University Academic Quality and Standards Committee

Shortcuts: Purpose | Terms of Reference | Membership | QuorumMode of operationMeeting dates | Record of business

The University Academic Quality and Standards Committee (AQSC) is a sub-committee of the University Education Committee. 

Purpose

The main purposes of the Committee are to:

  1. Oversee the framework for the quality and standards of learning, teaching and assessment at the University.
  2. Be responsible for the development and maintenance of regulations, policies and codes of practice as they relate to the quality framework, including maintaining oversight of the requirements of external quality assurance bodies, such as the Quality Assurance Agency, Research Councils UK, General Medical Council and other Professional, Statutory and Regulatory Bodies (PSRBs).
  3. Monitor the implementation of identified regulations, policies and codes of practice, and the operation of any supporting practices.
  4. To promote good practice and encourage innovation in learning, teaching and assessment.

Terms of reference

Advisory (to University Education Committee):

1. To advise on the framework assuring educational provision at the University, taking account of both the internal and external context.

2. To recommend new and revised regulations, codes of practice, and policies and guidance for the maintenance and enhancement of the quality and standards of the University’s academic provision.

3. To report any arising issues and areas of good practice with regards to academic standards and, more widely, learning, teaching and assessment.

4. To respond to internal and external imperatives as they arise and as they relate to the quality and standards of educational provision.

Decision making (on behalf of the University Education Committee):

5. To ensure alignment of the University’s policies and procedures with UK-wide frameworks as they relate to learning, teaching and assessment.

6. To monitor and oversee the implementation of the relevant internal processes, regulations, codes of practice, policies and guidance, including oversight of action planning associated with student surveys.

7. To monitor the quality and standards of taught programmes to ensure that the University's quality framework has been implemented appropriately.

8. To identify any issues with regard to academic quality and standards, arising from the University’s periodic review of programmes, including School Review, Periodic Programme Review and accreditation visits from PSRBs.

9. To review proposals for establishing new or revised educational partnerships or major new programme initiatives. 

10. To set the direction of the work of its sub groups, including managing the work of the Faculty Quality Teams.

11. To consider any other matters referred to it by University Education Committee.

Communication:

Regular reports to University Education Committee and communications with faculties and professional services via its members. 

Membership

The membership of the Committee for 2017-18 is as follows:

 In attendance:

Quorum

The Chair (or nominee) and at least five other staff members of the Committee to include three FQT Chairs.

If an FQT Chair is unable to attend a meeting of the Committee, another representative from the faculty will normally attend on her or his behalf. This would usually be a deputy (if in place), a Faculty Education Director, a staff FQT member, or the Faculty Education Manager.

Established subgroups

Mode of Operation

1. The Committee will normally meet six times a year.

2. The Committee will normally report monthly to University Education Committee

3. The Committee’s annual schedule of business will be identified at the start of each academic year.  Additional items of work are subject to annual negotiation with the Chair of the University Education Committee. 

Meeting dates

University Academic Quality and Standards Committee reports to University Education Committee so the meetings are scheduled to enable this.

The scheduled dates for 2017-18 are as follows:

University Academic Quality and Standards Committee reporting schedule 2017-18
Paper deadline for University Academic Quality and Standards CommitteeUniversity Academic Quality and Standards Committee meeting dateUniversity Education Committee meeting date
 Monday 2 October Wednesday 11 October  Wednesday 1 November
 Monday 6 November Wednesday 15 November  Wednesday 29 November
 Friday 13 January Tuesday 23 January  Wednesday 7 March
 Friday 23 February Tuesday 6 March  Wednesday 11 April
 Monday 9 April Wednesday 18 April  Wednesday 16 May
 Monday 14 May Wednesday 23 May  Wednesday 27 June
     

The scheduled dates for 2018-19 are as follows:

University Academic Quality and Standards Committee reporting schedule 2018-19
Paper deadline for University Academic Quality and Standards CommitteeUniversity Academic Quality and Standards Committee meeting dateReports to University Education Committee meeting date
Monday 1 October 2018 Wednesday 10 October 2018 Wednesday 24 October 2018
Friday 26 October 2018 Tuesday 6 November 2018 Wednesday 28 November 2018
Friday 18 January 2019 Tuesday 29 January 2019 Wednesday 6 March 2019
Friday 15 February 2019 Tuesday 26 February 2019 Wednesday 3 April 2019
Friday 22 March 2019 Tuesday 2 April 2019 Tuesday 14 May 2019
Friday 10 May 2019 Tuesday 21 May 2019 Wednesday 19 June 2019

Record of business

University Academic Quality and Standards Committee submits regular reports to University Education Committee (its parent committee) to record its recent business.  These reports are available for download (UoB only)