Education IT Board

Shortcuts: Terms of Reference | Membership | Quorum & delegates | Frequency & number of meetings | SLSP specific Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference
Main purpose of the committee:

Education IT Board has three main purposes:

Technology Enhanced Learning

  1. To set direction for, and maintain oversight of, developments in IT as it relates to educational and pedagogic enhancement at the University, particularly in relation to Technology Enhanced Learning, to include 5 year strategy and policy, projects, plans and change management (systems, processes and pedagogic implications), and delivery and implementation

IT Education Support

  1. To oversee IT support more generally in relation to education and the applicant and student experience at the University, to include aspects of inclusion e.g. disability needs, lap-top clinics; making recommendations for education projects to include applicant and student requirements and recommendations relating to the student and academic services.

Student Lifecycle Support Programme (SLSP)

  1. To constitute itself as the Programme Board for the Student Lifecycle Support Programme for the duration of the Programme’s existence

Advisory (to):

Decision making (on behalf of):

Reporting line:

Reports to the University Education Committee and University IT Committee.


Job titleRepresenting within CommitteeName of Individual
Deputy Registrar  [Chair] Education & Students [SLSP Sponsor] Lynn Robinson
Professor of Doctoral Education IT Committee Sally Barnes
Academic Director of Undergraduate Studies Academic Staff / Undergraduate perspectives Alvin Birdi
Acting Director of Strategic Programmes Strategic Projects Helen Cole
Academic Registrar [Delegate Chair] Education & Students [SLSP Director] Paula Coonerty
Academic Lead for Technology Enhanced Learning  Technology Enhanced Learning Colin Dalton
Student I.T. Experience Manager I.T. / Students Neil Davey
Programme Manager Delivery of SLSP Sylvia Franke
Faculty Manager, Science Faculty  Professional Services Staff in Faculties / Schools Christine Fraser
Students' Union Staff Students' Union Dani Glazzard
Deputy Finance Director Finance Andrew Grice
Director of Technology Enhanced Learning and Education Development Technology Enhanced Learning  Hilary Griffiths
Head of School, Modern Languages Academic Staff Susan Harrow
Academic Director of Postgraduate Studies Academic Staff / Postgraduate perspectives Sally Heslop
Sabbatical Officer Students' Union Laura Ho
Deputy Director of Library Services Library Services Stuart Hunt
Director of External Relations Student Recruitment and Admissions Alicia O'Grady
Associate Dean, Health Sciences Academic Staff Sarah Purdy
Pro Vice-Chancellor Education [Delegate Chair]

Education / University Senior Management [SLSP Academic Champion]

Judith Squires
Chief Information Officer  I.T. Darrell Sturley

Assistant Director of I.T. Services - Systems Development

I.T. Luke Taylor

SLSP Programme Coordinator 

Education IT Board secretary Rowan Young

Quorum and delegates: 

The board does not allow delegates to attend in the place of members.
The quorum for this board is a minimum of 8 members in attendance, which must include;

Frequency and number of meetings: 

The board will meet monthly.
The board’s agenda will be structured so that for a discrete section of the meeting it is constituted, and discharging its responsibilities, as the Programme Board for SLSP. Normally the Deputy Registrar (Programme Sponsor) will chair this part of the meeting.

Specific Terms of Reference in relation to SLSP:

The Education IT Board has one sub-committee: the Implementation Steering Group, responsible for management activities in relation to SLSP (see separate terms of reference). It meets fortnightly for the duration of SLSP.