View all news

Alumni in Queen's New Year's honours 2017

19 January 2017

Following the announcement of the Queen’s New Year's Honours list, we're delighted to congratulate Bristol alumni who have been recognised for their outstanding achievements and service.

Companion of Honour (CH)

  • Dame Evelyn Glennie DBE (Hon DMus 1995) for services to Music.

British Empire Medal (BEM)       

  • Nadia Saba (LLB 1993) for services to Triathlon in Bristol.

Dame Commander of the British Empire (DBE)        

  • Helen Fraser CBE (Hon Dlitt 2010), lately Chief Executive of The Girls' Day School Trust, for services to Education.

Knighthood (Kt)            

  • David Ord (Hon DSc 2015), for political service and service to the community in the South West.


  • Professor Richard Burdett (BA 1978), Professor of Architecture and Urban Studies at the London School of Economics, for services to Urban Planning and Design.
  • Helena Herklots (BSc 1986), Chief Executive of Carers UK, for services to carers.
  • Professor Steven West (Hon LLD 2014), Vice-Chancellor, University of the West of England, for services to Higher Education.
  • Dr Andrew Garrad FREng (Honorary Deng, 2009), for services to Renewable Energy.


  • Professor Claire Callender (BSc 1979), Professor of Higher Education Policy at Birkbeck University of London and Professor of Higher Education Studies at UCL Institute of Education, for services to Education.
  • Sheila Nicoll (BA 1981), Head of Public Policy at Schroders, for services to Financial Services and voluntary service.
  • Timothy Pigott Smith (BA 1967; Hon DLitt 2008), actor, for services to Drama.
  • Eleanor Brazil (MSc 1992), Children’s Services Commissioner, Slough, for services to Children’s Social Care.
  • Professor Peter Jones (BSc 1970), Independent Transport Commissioner, for voluntary services to National Transport Policy.


  • William Dean (BSc 2003), Chief Executive Officer of Tough Mudder, for services to charitable giving through Sport.
  • Arjuna Fernando (BEng 1992), Investor and Entrepreneur, for services to the Digital Economy.
  • Georgina Twigg (LLB 2012), for services to Hockey.
  • Hannah Mills (BSc 2012), for services to Sailing.

You can view the entire New Year's honours list 2017 online.

Further information

If you're a Bristol graduate and we haven't listed you here, it may be that we don't have your details. We'd love to hear from you, so please do get in touch with us at to share your achievements.