Lectures and seminars

Ralph Pite

  • Edward Thomas
  • Thursday 23 November 2017

Professor Pite discusses the often overlooked war poet Edward Thomas.

Elizabeth Horan

  • Gabriela Mistral
  • Tuesday 14 November 2017

Professor Horan (Arizona) discusses lesbian biography and the closet.

Samantha Matthews

  • Albums, Poetry, Print in the 1780s
  • Thursday 09 November 2017

Dr. Matthews delivers a paper on the subject of her forthcoming book.

Gavin Alexander

  • Lyric between Rhetoric and Poetics
  • Thursday 12 October 2017

Dr. Alexander (Cantab) discusses the classical antecedence of lyric poetry.

Reza Taher-Kermani

  • The Oxus: A River of Texts
  • Thursday 30 March 2017

A seminar paper on Matthew Arnold's 'Sohrab and Rustum'.

Don Share (2)

  • In conversation with Rebecca Kosick
  • Wednesday 29 March 2017

A public conversation with Don Share, respected editor, poet and translator.

Don Share (1)

  • Regions and Reach of Modernism
  • Tuesday 28 March 2017

Editor-in-Chief of Poetry Magazine discusses literary modernism.

Edward Holberton

  • Marvell in Muscovy
  • Thursday 02 March 2017

Dr. Holberton (Bristol) gives a seminar on diplomacy, poetry and Marvell's embassy to Russia.

David Trotter

  • Modernism and Media Theory
  • Thursday 09 February 2017

The King Edward VII Professor of English (Cambridge) delivers the 2017 Churchill Lecture.

Cathy Hume

  • Bible Translation, Poem or Play?
  • Thursday 24 November 2016

Cathy Hume (Bristol) dellivers a research paper on decoding the late-Medieval 'Life of Job'.

A. C. Spearing

  • Telling the Story in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
  • Tuesday 15 November 2016

University of Virginia Professor delivers the 2016 Tucker-Cruse Lecture.

Andrew Bennett

  • 'A death that one gives oneself sovereignly'
  • Thursday 10 November 2016

Prof Bennett (Bristol) gives a seminar on Sylvia Plath, Stevie Smith and suicide.

Rosalind Powell

  • Enlightening Optics: Light and Perception in 18C Poetry
  • Thursday 27 October 2016

Ros Powell (Bristol) discusses light and perception in eighteenth-century poetry.

Jane Wright

  • The Poetry of Bees
  • Thursday 17 March 2016

Taking the poetry of Robert Browning as a starting point, Dr Wright explores the cross pollination of poetry and bees.

Mark Ford

  • Thomas Hardy: Half a Londoner
  • Tuesday 15 March 2016

Professor Ford (UCL) lectures on Hardy's poems and novels, arguing for the importance of London to the writer.

Jessica Fay

  • Wordsworth's Middle Years
  • Thursday 3 March 2016

Jessica Fay, Leverhulme Early Career Fellow (Bristol), talks about Wordsworth's affinity with Monasticism in his middle years.

Peter Swaab

  • Elizabeth Bishop and Exclamation
  • Thursday 4 February 2016

Professor Swaab (UCL) delivers a seminar that takes account of the shifting uses of punctuation in the poetry of Elizabeth Bishop.

Neil Corcoran

  • Robert Graves and Modern Poetry
  • Monday 30 November 2015

Neil Corcoran, late King Alfred Professor of English (Liverpool), gives a lecture on Graves through the lens of close-reading.

Helen Fulton

  • Poetry and Marcher Lordship
  • Thursday 8 October 2015

Beginning with the extant court poets of the Wars of the Roses, Professor Helen Fulton explores the concept of poetic flattery in battle.

Edit this page