About the Faculty

Welcome to the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, where scientists and students are involved in research and education about the fundamental principles that underpin clinical practice and shape our understanding of human and animal function.

Professor George Banting, Dean of Biomedical Sciences

The Faculty of Biomedical Sciences is a busy hub for learning and research, built on the academic and creative output of over 430 staff members, 1400 undergraduate and about 400 postgraduate students from across the world.

We are nationally recognised as a Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) and pride ourselves on the teaching facilities and innovative educational resources we provide for our students. Our educational and research activities also stretch beyond Bristol. We do this through partnerships with other universities and industry, eg the South West Doctoral Training Partnership. This helps to reinforce our engagement with the wider academic community.

Several breakthroughs in research from our academics have led to commercial ventures in translational science that could pave the way for revolutionary treatments for disease. These include the spin-out company Azellon Cell Therapeutics, born of pioneering research into stem cell technology; and Apitope, which is developing novel therapeutic peptide vaccines. This breadth of talent across all our schools is supported by state-of-the-art core equipment facilities for research that enable academics to work at the forefront of their disciplines.

Few universities contain a focused structure for research and education in both human and animal biomedical and clinical sciences, giving the Faculty Biomedical Sciences a unique environment in which our academic and student communities thrive.

Faculty of Life Sciences

The new Faculty of Life Sciences will be launched in August 2018. It will comprise the Schools of:

  • Biochemistry
  • Biological Sciences
  • Cellular and Molecular Medicine
  • Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience
  • Psychological Science

As a result, from August 2018, the Faculty of Science will comprise the Schools of:

  • Chemistry
  • Earth Sciences
  • Geographical Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
Edit this page