Using your UCard

Accessing University buildings

University buildings use a variety of online and offline UCard readers. You can see example readers and usage on the Security Services web site.  Once your UCard has been initialised  (see below), simply place the UCard against a reader, wait for any lights to stop flashing. If you have the appropriate access rights the door lock will release. Do not wave your UCard over a reader.

Using your UCard (card initialisation)

When your smart card is issued it is already initialised and ready to use on a UCard reader.

Watch a short explanatory video

Please note this film requires the Flash player plugin. If you experience problems accessing any of the content on this page, please contact card-services@bristol.ac.uk.

To initialise your card present it to a silver-coloured Salto online reader, these are identified with the UCard logo and are positioned at the entrances to all of the main University buildings. For the barrier at the Arts and Social Sciences library see below.

Salto external reader

Hold your card against the reader for approximately 10 seconds. Keep your card stationary.

When a card is presented to a Salto reader for the first time it will start to flash blue as data is updated on your card. Once the blue light stops flashing, it can take up to 10 seconds, the colour will change to either red or green.

If the light turns green your access has been correctly assigned and the system is fully configured for you.

Subsequent door access will consist of a short blue flash and a green or red flash depending on your access rights.

If the light turns red but allows entry, this indicates that you have access to the main doors but not to any internal (offline) readers. If there is a problem with access rights you should contact your local UCard administrator.

Accessing the Arts and Social Sciences library

ASSL barrier with smartcard

The barriers at the Arts and Social Sciences library operates slightly differently to the other University readers.

There are two places where a card can be read.

The window area (at the rear) is used to scan old-style bar codes. The front section, with the UCard logo, is used if you have a UCard.

To enter, simply place your UCard on the panel "PLACE SMART CARD HERE" above the UCard logo and the barrier will open within 1 second. If the barrier does not open immediately it may be because your card has not been initialised. Hold your card against the reader for approximately 10 seconds. Keep your card stationary.  This is similar to the process described above but you will not see any indicator lights.

If the barrier still does not open there may be a problem with your library access settings. Please contact Card Services, at the Royal Fort Lodge, for assistance.

UCard Administrators

ou require additional access to your department building(s) due to limited access on your UCard, outside of the standard hours, or to access high-risk areas, contact your UCard Administrator below.

If you need access to building(s) outside your department/faculty/division, please complete a request to extend building access form (Office document, 42kB) (Word doc. 41KB) and email to the relevant UCard Administrator(s) for them to approve and extend your access privileges. 

The below list is continually being added to as training of UCard Administrators takes place, if there is no administrator listed below, please send your form to Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk where staff will be able to make the changes on your behalf. For those staff who need University-wide access, this needs to be requested via Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk.

If your building UCard administrator is not listed below then please contact Security Services on internal extension 11190 or via email to Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk.

To report a fault with hardware please visit the maintenance problems page.

 

Faculty/BuildingAddressUCard AdministratorContact Telephone
Faculty/Building Address UCard Administrator Contact Telephone Email
1 Woodland Road

MultiFaith Chaplaincy

  Reverend Ed Davis (0117) 95 46601 Ed.Davis@bristol.ac.uk
Clotilde Barberon (0117) 95 46600 multifaith-chaplaincy@bristol.ac.uk
Term Time ONLY - Chaplaincy Assistants   multifaith-chaplaincy@bristol.ac.uk
1 Priory Road   Heidi Andrews (0117) 39 40042

H.Andrews@bristol.ac.uk

15-19 Tyndall's Park Road EFIM Staff  Lee Walsh  (0117) 39 10997 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
2 Priory Road   Zaheda Tariq (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
  Economics, Finance & Management  Lee Walsh  (0117) 39 10997 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk

Physcology Only

  Megan Hurse  (0117) 92 88450
megan.hurse@bristol.ac.uk
2, 3, 6, 7 & 8 Priory Rd, 10 & 12 Woodland Rd.   Zaheda Tariq (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
3, 4, 10 & 11 Priory Road   Sue Battin (0117) 33 17588 Sue.Battin@bristol.ac.uk
  Dan Hemings (0117) 33 17583 Dan.Hemings@bristol.ac.uk
7 Woodland Road   Laurie Jones (0117) 33 11292  Laurie.Jones@bristol.ac.uk
  Rosanne Jacks (0117) 33 17982 R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
7, 19 & 21 Woodland Rd   Anne Payne (0117) 33 18006 Anne.Payne@bristol.ac.uk
3-5, 9 & 21 Woodland Rd   Rosanne Jacks (0117) 33 17982 R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
30-32 Tyndalls Park Road   Rosanne Jacks (0117) 33 17982 R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
30-32 TPR (EFIM) EFIM School Staff  Lee Walsh (0117) 92 88411 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
31 Great George Street Digi Workspace ONLY       -
34 Tyndalls Park Road    Rosanne Jacks  (0117) 33 17982  R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
  Lee Walsh (0117) 92 88411 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk

121 St Michaels Hill

       
33 Colston Street   Simon Wilde (0117) 90 35174 S.M.Wilde@bristol.ac.uk
Paul Sparrow (0117) 90 35520 P.Sparrow@bristol.ac.uk
Kristen Potter (0117) 33 14398 Kristen.Potter@bristol.ac.uk
35 Berkeley Square   Tom Begbie (0117) 33 14493 tom.begbie@bristol.ac.uk
Liz Roberts (0117) 33 14108 Liz.Roberts@bristol.ac.uk
Mary O'Connell (0117) 33 14302 Mary.OConnell@bristol.ac.uk
39 - 41 St. Michaels Hill    Nicola Andrews  (0117) 39 41440 nicola.andrews@bristol.ac.uk
   Miles Taylor  (0117) 33 11546 Miles.Taylor@bristol.ac.uk
   Gayle Hanbury  (0117) 33 11530  Gayle.Hanbury@bristol.ac.uk
43 Woodland Rd   Gillian Fearnyough (0117) 33 17834 Gillian.Fearnyough@bristol.ac.uk
Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872 Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
Debra Squires (0117) 33 11239 D.J.Blackmore-Squires@bristol.ac.uk
7 & 43 Woodland Rd   Shelley Marsden (0117)33 17888 Shelley.Marsden@bristol.ac.uk

8-10 Berkeley Square

(Law Clinic only)

   Louise Chalice

(0117) 33 15035

Loiuse.Chalice@Bristol.ac.uk
8-10 Berkeley Square

(Library Services)

   Carolyn Mckinnon (0117) 33 14181  Carolyn.McKinnon@bristol.ac.uk
Arts & Social Sciences Library Tyndall Avenue Nathalie Beaufils (0117) 92 14308
Badock Hall   Robert Lennon (0117) 42 82048  rob.lennon@bristol.ac.uk
Beacon House   Annabel Hurst (0117) 95 4 6657 Annabel.Hurst@bristol.ac.uk
Debbie Hastings (0117) 39 41395 Debbie.Hastings@bristol.ac.uk
Berkeley Square (40) Innovation Centre  David Pegler  (0117) 33 11517  David.Pegler@bristol.ac.uk
Careers Services Oldbury House Lorna Weedon (0117) 92 88687 Lorna.Weedon@Bristol.ac.uk
  Angie Macleod (0117) 92 8 8228 Angie.MacLeod@bristol.ac.uk
Centre for Sport, Exercise & Health Tyndall Ave Jo Blackett (0117) 33 11104 Jo.Blackett@bristol.ac.uk
Gordon Aitken (0117) 33 11140 Gordon.Aitken@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry Nitro Store   Tony Rogers (0117) 95 46348 A.S.Rogers@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry & Sychem   Simon Osborne (0117) 92 87646
Claire Pringle (0117) 92 88202 C.L.Pringle@bristol.ac.uk
Richard Sherwood (0117) 92 87646 Richard.Sherwood@bristol.ac.uk
Helen Scott (0117) 33 11421  Helen.Scott@bristol.ac.uk
Selena Power (0117) 95 45467 Selena.Power@bristol.ac.uk
Rachel Fisher (0117) 92 88202 Rachel.Fisher@bristol.ac.uk
Natalie Pridmore (0117) 33 18299  N.Pridmore@bristol.ac.uk
Hazel Sparkes (0117) 33 18298 Hazel.Sparkes@bristol.ac.uk
Clare Westlake (0117) 92 88158 Clare.westlake@bristol.ac.uk
Maev Moran (0117) 92 88201 maev.moran@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry E134 Labs   Hazel Sparkes (0117) 33 18298 hazel.sparkes@bristol.ac.uk
Natalie Pridmore (0117) 33 18299  N.Pridmore@bristol.ac.uk

Jonathan Charmant

(0117) 92 88253

Jon.Charmant@bristol.ac.uk

Clifton Hill House   Jo Robinson (0117) 90 35180 Jo.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
Churchill Hall   John Mathias 0117) 42 82027   John.Mathias@bristol.ac.uk
Amy Wilkinson-Tough (0117) 33 11541  Amy.Wilkinson-Tough@bristol.ac.uk
Computer Centre Tyndall Avenue Amy Bryant (0117) 39 41155 Amy.Bryant@bristol.ac.uk
Nicola Humphries (0117) 39 40131 Nicola.Humphries@bristol.ac.uk
IT Communications General   Ian Stubbs (0117) 39 41126 Ian.Stubbs@bristol.ac.uk
  Gareth Hembrough (0117) 39 41143   Gareth.Hembrough@bristol.ac.uk
Cotham Hill House Cotham Hill Debra Squires (0117) 33 11239 D.J.Blackmore-Squires@bristol.ac.uk
Dorothy Hodgkin Building   Paul Newcomb (0117) 33 13171 P.V.Newcomb@bristol.ac.uk
Amanda Carmichael (0117) 34 20198 Amanda.Carmichael@bristol.ac.uk
Dagmara  Szmigiel (0117) 33 13025 DMP.Szmigiel@Bristol.ac.uk
Film and Theatre   Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872   Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
  Kate Withers (0117) 33 15088 Kate.Withers@bristol.ac.uk
  Deborah Gibbs (0117) 33 15088 Deborah.Gibbs@bristol.ac.uk
  Jo Elsworth (0117) 33 15086  Jo.Elsworth@bristol.ac.uk
  Gillian Fearnyough (0117) 33 17834  Gillian.Fearnyough@bristol.ac.uk
Durdham Hall   John Mathias (0117) 42 82027  John.Mathias@bristol.ac.uk
Earth Sciences   Sue Amesbury (0117) 33 15132 Sue.Amesbury@bristol.ac.uk
  Caroline Yeates (0117) 95 45400 Caroline.Yeates@bristol.ac.uk
 Mon-Wed AM Stuart Bellamy (0117) 95 45404
Stuart.Bellamy@bristol.ac.uk
Engineering Queens & Merchant Venturers Bldg Jack McKenna (0117) 33 15830  engf-faculty@bristol.ac.uk 
Helen Burchett - helen.burchett@bristol.ac.uk
Lydia Dawe - Lydia.dawe@bristol.ac.uk
Emma Tweedle (0117) 95 15520 emma.tweedle@bristol.ac.uk
Suzanne Binding (0117) 95 45395 Suzanne.Binding@bristol.ac.uk
Harriet Parks - Post Grad access (0117) 33 14787 Harriet.Parks@bristol.ac.uk
Ann Foster (0117) 33 14761 ann.foster@bristol.ac.uk
Paige Spicer - ACCIS only (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
Donna Exon-Bartlett (0117) 33 15201 Donna.Exon-Bartlett@bristol.ac.uk
Alison Withey

(0117) 33  15833

Alison.Withey@bristol.ac.uk
 Liz Heal (0117) 33 15614  Liz.Heal@bristol.ac.uk
Clare Hickey (0117) 33 15107  Clare.Hickey@bristol.ac.uk
Helen Cooke

(0117) 95 45385

Helen.Cooke@bristol.ac.uk
Mary Millard

(0117) 33 15846   

Mary.Millard@bristol.ac.uk
Margaret Piotrowska (0117) 33 15705 Margaret.Piotrowska@bristol.ac.uk
Sarah Rogers (0117) 33 15759   sarah.rogers@bristol.ac.uk
Eliane Kelly-Canning (0117) 33 15119  elaine.kelly-canning@bristol.ac.uk
Eleanor Stoddard (0117) 33 15109  eleanor.stoddard@bristol.ac.uk
Julie Etches (0117) 95 45369 J.Etches@bristol.ac.uk
Allison Mcintosh-Smith (0117) 33 15782 Allison.McIntosh-Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Jenny Hawkins (0117) 33 15113  J.Hawkins@bristol.ac.uk
Barbara Johnstone (0117) 33 15177 Barbara.Johnstone@bristol.ac.uk
CAME Charlotte Goudge (0117) 33 15222  C.Goudge@bristol.ac.uk
Geography   Jeni Milsom (0117) 95 46978 Jeni.Milsom@bristol.ac.uk
Weds - Fri PM Stuart Bellamy (0117) 92 87437 Stuart.Bellamy@bristol.ac.uk
Goldney Hall & Linbury Court    Jo Robinson  (0117) 90 35180  Jo.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
 Amber Bartlett (0117) 42 82169   Amber.Bartlett@bristol.ac.uk
Hawthorns    Jo Robinson  (0117) 90 35180 Jo.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
  Laura Bagley (0117) 39 40221 Laura.Bagley@bristol.ac.uk
Hampton House   Dafydd Waters (0117) 33 10457 Dafydd.Waters@bristol.ac.uk
Hiatt Baker Hall   Kevin Corson - Kevin.Corson@bristol.ac.uk
Howard House - Maths ONLY

 

  Fran Blake (0117) 33 15256 Fran.Blake@bristol.ac.uk

 

Alistair Hunt 

(0117) 33 15256 Alistair.Hunt@Bristol.ac.uk
Hummanites (Arts)  

Rosanne Jacks

(0117) 33 17982  R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
  Kim Lai (0117) 33 17980  fixkl@bristol.ac.uk
Langford Drama Archive   Jo Elsworth (0117) 33 15086 Jo.Elsworth@bristol.ac.uk
Heather Romain (0117) 95 45464 Heather.Romaine@bristol.ac.uk
Langford General   Jennie Roberts (0117) 92 89200
Wendy Colton - Wendy.Colton@bristol.ac.uk
Stuart Pope (0117) 92 89470 S.J.Pope@bristol.ac.uk
Zoe Murfitt (0117) 92 89401  Zoe.Murfitt@bristol.ac.uk
Langford House only Liz Horne (0117) 92 89562  Liz.Horne@bristol.ac.uk
Life Sciences Building   Julie Shackleford  - lsb-admin@bristol.ac.uk
Anthony Crawford (0117) 92 88486 lsb-admin@bristol.ac.uk
Manor Hall (Richmond Terrace)   Nikki Press (0117) 42 82140
Nikki.Press@bristol.ac.uk
Christina Dunn (0117) 42 82142  C.K.Dunn@bristol.ac.uk
Med Cellular & Molecular Medicine    Mia Khan  (0117) 33 12017  Mia.Khan@Bristol.ac.uk
Cat Evans

(0117) 33 12418

Cat.Evans@Bristol.ac.uk
Lexi Merritt-Harding

(0117) 33       12083

Lexi.Merritt-Harding@Bristol.ac.uk
Kate Davies (0117) 33 12050 Kate.Davies@bristol.ac.uk
Med Biochemistry   Jonathan Cartwright (0117) 33 12192 Jon.Cartwright@bristol.ac.uk
Rachel Tucker (0117) 33 12166 R.Tucker@bristol.ac.uk
Emma Lewis

(0117) 33 12164 

Emma.L.Lewis@Bristol.ac.uk
Med Physiology & Pharmacology   Sarah Gazzard

(0117) 33 12265

Sarah.Gazzard@bristol.ac.uk
Debora Kay (0117) 33 11437  Debora.Kay@bristol.ac.uk
Physics - NSQI only  Tyndall Avenue Steve Neck (0117) 928 8741 Steve.Neck@bristol.ac.uk
Caroline Jarrett (0117) 928 8940  mdceb@bristol.ac.uk
 Martisse Foster   (0117) 928 8940 Martisse.Foster@bristol.ac.uk
Alex Martin (0117) 92 87356 A.Martin@bristol.ac.uk
Oakfield House & Canynge Hall   Canynge Hall    
Deborah Strickland (0117) 92 87337 Deborah.Strickland@bristol.ac.uk
Jan Hill (0117) 92 87310  Jan.Hill@bristol.ac.uk
Joanna Penny

(0117) 33

14599

Oakfield House    
Ross Robinson  (0117) 33 10118 Ross.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
Hannah Woodward (0117) 33 10017 or 10187 Hannah.Woodward@bristol.ac.uk
Oakfield House Data Link Office   Andrew Boyd (0117) 33 10033 A.W.Boyd@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill, Victoria Rooms Maintenance area & UCard Controlled Plant Rooms   Julia Shapcott (0117) 95 45918 Julia.Shapcott@bristol.ac.uk
Pete Viney (0117) 33 11896 Pete.Viney@bristol.ac.uk
Ken McCombe (0117) 92 88054 K.D.McCombe@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill   John Hammond (0117) 33 11890 John.Hammond@bristol.ac.uk
  Rob Jenkinson (0117) 33 17737 R.Jenkinson@bristol.ac.uk
  Julia Shapcott (0117) 95 45918 Julia.Shapcott@bristol.ac.uk
  Ken McCombe (0117) 92 88649 K.D.McCombe@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Projects Office   Buffy Godfrey (0117) 92 88649 Buffy.Godfrey@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Print Services

1-9 Old Park Hill

Kate Bartlett (0117) 92 88295 Kate.Bartlett@bristol.ac.uk
Carol Aleknavicius (0117) 92 88067 Carol.Aleknavicius@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Complexity Studies   Sophie Benoit (0117) 95 45663 Sophie.Benoit@bristol.ac.uk
Physics Tyndall Avenue Steve Neck (0117) 92 88741
Dr Caroline Jarrett (0117) 92 88940 mdceb@bristol.ac.uk
Martisse Foster (0117) 92 88940 Martisse.Foster@bristol.ac.uk
Peter Barham (0117) 92 88711 Peter.Barham@bristol.ac.uk

Pre-Clinical Veterinary School

Southwell St Kate Healy (0117) 92 88338
kate.healy@bristol.ac.uk

Priory Road Complex

B, C, E and F Blocks     EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
 
Psychology   Paul Warren (0117) 33 10504 Paul.Warren@bristol.ac.uk
Liz Barker (0117) 33 10501 Liz.Barker@bristol.ac.uk
Jane Pitfield (0117) 33 10510 Jane.Pitfield@bristol.ac.uk
Emily Heseltine (0117) 95 46832 Emily.Heseltine@bristol.ac.uk
Queens, NCC Offices & ACCIS Offices   Paige Spicer (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Katie Drury (0117) 33 15782 katie.drury@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Paige Spicer (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Allison McIntosh-Smith (0117) 33 15782 Allison.McIntosh-Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Royal Fort House IAS Robert Crowe  (0117) 92 89173 robert.crowe@bristol.ac.uk
Science Faculty Office Miles Taylor   miles.taylor@bristol.ac.uk
Royal Fort Lodge   Tony Blundal (0117) 33 11001
Liz Philpott (0117) 33 11190
Senate House  
Senate House, Ground Floor, Student Office   Sheralynn Light (0117) 92 88101 sheralynn.light@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 1st Floor, Health Sciences Faculty        
   Gayle Hanbury (0117) 92 88250  gayle.hanbury@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 1st Floor, North Wing, Social Sciences & Law Faculty   Catriona Wilgoss (0117) 92 88272 Catriona.Maclean-Eltham@bristol.ac.uk
  Laura Jenks (0117) 33 17298 laura.jenks@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 2nd Floor North Wing, Student Services   Sarah Marshall (0117) 39 41104 sarah.marshall@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Morton (0117) 39 41047 Rebecca.Morton@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, Office 2.1, Public & Ceremonial Events   Sacha Russell (0117) 33 18313 sacha.russell@bristol.ac.uk
Laura Pugh (0117) 92 88986 Laura.Pugh@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 3rd Floor, RED   Gurjeet Kaur (0117) 92 88318 Gurjeet.Kaur@Bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 3rd Floor, Human Resources   Sarah Haworth (0117) 92 88264 Sarah.Haworth@bristol.ac.uk
Rachael Clifton (0117) 92 88272 Rachael.Clifton@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 4th Floor Finance   Rebecca Geen (0117) 33 17104 rg14944@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Attwood (0117) 92 87900 Rebecca.Attwood@bristol.ac.uk
Julie Wallis (0117) 92 88622 Julie.Wallis@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 5th Floor   Denisa Mulcahy (0117) 92 88979 Denisa.Mulcahy@bristol.ac.uk
Student Union/Richmond Building   Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872 Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Students Union  

Andrew Williams

(0117) 33 18662 stapw@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Students Union Shop   Louise Birbeck (0117) 33 18263 Lou.Birbeck@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Strategic Planning Office, 3rd Floor   Samantha Dixon (0117) 33 18744 samantha.dixon@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Strategic Projects Office, 3rd Floor   Julie Selman

(0117) 33

18659

Julie.Selman@Bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, 3rd Floor North, International Office   Jack Bush (0117) 33 18571 Jack.Bush@bristol.ac.uk
     
Richmond Building, 4th & 5th Floor North   Sarah Armstrong (0117) 33 18522 Sarah.Armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Richard Merrill (0117) 33 10868 Richard.Merrill@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Swimming Pool & Facilities   M Taylor (0117) 95 45809 M.Taylor@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, CELFS   Sarah Armstrong (0117) 33 18522 Sarah.Armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Wendy Denton (0117) 33 18606 Wendy.Denton@bristol.ac.uk
Corinne Lamplugh (0117) 33 18619 corinne.lamplugh@bristol.ac.uk
Robin Warr (0117) 92 88929 robin.warr@bristol.ac.uk
Helen Campbell (0117) 33 18522 helen.campbell@bristol.ac.uk
Hannah Coe (0117)  hannah.coe@bristol.ac.uk
Jennie Brettell (0117) 33 18522 Jennie.Brettell@bristol.ac.uk
Wills Memorial Building,

Bristol Law School

  Caroline Andrews (0117) 95 45310 Caroline.Andrews@bristol.ac.uk
Toni Walsh (0117) 95 45322 Toni.Walsh@bristol.ac.uk
Wills Memorial Building

Earth Sciences G36 Comms Room

  Colin Knowles

(0117) 33 17456

(0117) 33 17208

Colin.Knowles@bristol.ac.uk
Winkworth House   Liz Posner (0117) 95 46638 Liz.Posner@bristol.ac.uk