Using your UCard

Accessing University buildings

University buildings use a variety of online and offline UCard readers. You can see example readers and usage on the Security Services web site.  Once your UCard has been initialised  (see below), simply place the UCard against a reader, wait for any lights to stop flashing. If you have the appropriate access rights the door lock will release. Do not wave your UCard over a reader.

Using your UCard (card initialisation)

When your smart card is issued it is already initialised and ready to use on a UCard reader.

Watch a short explanatory video

Please note this film requires the Flash player plugin. If you experience problems accessing any of the content on this page, please contact card-services@bristol.ac.uk.

To initialise your card present it to a silver-coloured Salto online reader, these are identified with the UCard logo and are positioned at the entrances to all of the main University buildings. For the barrier at the Arts and Social Sciences library see below.

Salto external reader

Hold your card against the reader for approximately 10 seconds. Keep your card stationary.

When a card is presented to a Salto reader for the first time it will start to flash blue as data is updated on your card. Once the blue light stops flashing, it can take up to 10 seconds, the colour will change to either red or green.

If the light turns green your access has been correctly assigned and the system is fully configured for you.

Subsequent door access will consist of a short blue flash and a green or red flash depending on your access rights.

If the light turns red but allows entry, this indicates that you have access to the main doors but not to any internal (offline) readers. If there is a problem with access rights you should contact your local UCard administrator.

Accessing the Arts and Social Sciences library

ASSL barrier with smartcard

The barriers at the Arts and Social Sciences library operates slightly differently to the other University readers.

There are two places where a card can be read.

The window area (at the rear) is used to scan old-style bar codes. The front section, with the UCard logo, is used if you have a UCard.

To enter, simply place your UCard on the panel "PLACE SMART CARD HERE" above the UCard logo and the barrier will open within 1 second. If the barrier does not open immediately it may be because your card has not been initialised. Hold your card against the reader for approximately 10 seconds. Keep your card stationary.  This is similar to the process described above but you will not see any indicator lights.

If the barrier still does not open there may be a problem with your library access settings. Please contact Card Services, at the Royal Fort Lodge, for assistance.

UCard Administrators

If you require additional access to your department building(s) due to limited access on your UCard, outside of the standard hours, or to access high-risk areas, contact your UCard Administrator below.

If you need access to building(s) outside your department/faculty/division, please complete a request to extend building access form (Office document, 42kB) (Word doc. 41KB) and email to the relevant UCard Administrator(s) for them to approve and extend your access privileges. 

The below list is continually being added to as training of UCard Administrators takes place, if there is no administrator listed below, please send your form to Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk where staff will be able to make the changes on your behalf. For those staff who need University-wide access, this needs to be requested via Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk.

If your building UCard administrator is not listed below then please contact Security Services on internal extension 11190 or via email to Card-Services@Bristol.ac.uk.

To report a fault with hardware please visit the maintenance problems page.

 

 

 

Faculty/BuildingAddressUCard AdministratorContact Telephone
Faculty/Building Address UCard Administrator Contact Telephone Email
1 Woodland Road

MultiFaith Chaplaincy

  Reverend Ed Davis (0117) 95 46601 Ed.Davis@bristol.ac.uk
Clotilde Barberon (0117) 95 46600 clotilde.barberon@bristol.ac.uk
Term Time ONLY - Chaplaincy Assistants   multifaith-chaplaincy@bristol.ac.uk
1 Priory Road   Catriona Wilgoss (0117) 92 88272 Catriona.wilgoss@bristol.ac.uk
15-19 Tyndall's Park Road EFIM Staff     EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
2 Priory Road   Catriona Wilgoss (0117) 92 87797 Catriona.Wilgoss@bristol.ac.uk
Centre for Market & Public Organisation Zaheda Anwar (Tariq) (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
25-27 Belgrave Road Policy Studies Zaheda Anwar (Tariq) (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
Economics, Finance & Management   (0117) 92 88411 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk

5 Priory Rd,

Psychology &  Biological Sciences

  Laylah Morris (0117) 92 88450 Laylah.Morris@bristol.ac.uk

Oona Kelly

(0117) 92 88475

Or.Kelly@bristol.ac.uk

2, 3, 6, 7 & 8 Priory Rd, 10 Woodland Rd,   Zaheda Tariq (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
3 & 10 Priory Rd   Keren Durant (0117) 33 17586 Keren.Durant@bristol.ac.uk
Sue Battin (0117) 33 17588 Sue.Battin@bristol.ac.uk
11 Priory Road   Sue Battin (0117) 33 11024 Sue.Battin@bristol.ac.uk
7 Woodland Road   Tora Manchester (0117) 92 88897 Tora.Manchester@bristol.ac.uk
James Scott   James.Scott@bristol.ac.uk
Matthew Bailey (0117) 33 18443 Matthew.Bailey@bristol.ac.uk
7, 19 & 21 Woodland Rd   Anne Payne (0117) 33 18006 Anne.Payne@bristol.ac.uk
3-5, 9 & 21 Woodland Rd   Rosanne Jacks (0117) 33 17982 R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
4 Priory Road (Rear Building)   Tom Begbie (0117) 33 14493 tom.begbie@bristol.ac.uk
Mary O'Connell (0117) 33 14302 Mary.OConnell@bristol.ac.uk
30-32 Tyndalls Park Road        
Rosanne Jacks (0117) 33 17982 R.Jacks@bristol.ac.uk
30-32 TPR (EFIM) EFIM School Staff   (0117) 92 88411 EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
31 Great George Street Digi Workspace ONLY       
34 Tyndalls Park Road        

121 St Michaels Hill

       
33 Colston Street   Simon Wilde (0117) 90 35174 S.M.Wilde@bristol.ac.uk
Sarah Plumbridge (0117) 95 46638 S.J.Plumbridge@bristol.ac.uk
Paul Sparrow (0117) 90 35520 P.Sparrow@bristol.ac.uk
Kristen Potter (0117) 33 14398 Kristen.Potter@bristol.ac.uk
Yvonne Olver (0117) 95 45548 Yvonne.Olver@bristol.ac.uk
35 Berkeley Square   Tom Begbie (0117) 33 14493 tom.begbie@bristol.ac.uk
Liz Barker (0117) 33 14108 Liz.Barker@bristol.ac.uk
Mary O'Connell (0117) 33 14302 Mary.OConnell@bristol.ac.uk
39 - 41 St. Michaels Hill        
43 Woodland Rd   Gillian Fearnyough (0117) 33 17834 Gillian.Fearnyough@bristol.ac.uk
Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872 Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
Debra Squires (0117) 33 11239 D.J.Blackmore-Squires@bristol.ac.uk
7 & 43 Woodland Rd   Simon Gane (0117) 33 18454 Simon.Gane@bristol.ac.uk
71 Cotham Hill   David Fowler (0117) 95 45982 David.Fowler@bristol.ac.uk
Janet Cainey (0117) 33 10422 Janet.Cainey@bristol.ac.uk
Loretta McLaughlin (0117) 33 17877 Loretta.McLaughlin@bristol.ac.uk

8-10 Berkeley Square

(Law Clinic)

   Louise Chalice

(0117) 33 15035

Loiuse.Chalice@Bristol.ac.uk
8-10 Berkeley Square

(Library Services)

    (0117) 33 14181  
Arts & Social Sciences Library Tyndall Avenue Nathalie Beaufils (0117) 92 88003
Badock Hall   Rita Rawlings (0117) 90 32485 Rita.Rawlings@bristol.ac.uk
Berkeley Square (8-10) Education Support Unit   Tom Begbie (0117) 33 14493 tom.begbie@bristol.ac.uk
Liz Barker (0117) 33 14108 Liz.Barker@bristol.ac.uk
Mary O'Connell (0117) 33 14302 Mary.OConnell@bristol.ac.uk
Berkeley Square (40) Innovation Centre  Jayne Radcliffe (0117) 92
jayne.brown@bristol.ac.uk
Browns University Road   (0117) 92
Careers Services Tyndall Ave Trudy Mardon (0117) 92 88221 Trudy.Mardon@bristol.ac.uk
Oldbury House Lorna Weedon (0117) 92 88687 Lorna.Weedon@Bristol.ac.uk
65 Woodland Road (TSS) Joe Travers (0117) 42 82217

Centre for Sport, Exercise & Health Tyndall Ave Zaheda Tariq (0117) 95 46738 Zaheda.Anwar@bristol.ac.uk
Jo Blackett (0117) 33 11104 Jo.Blackett@bristol.ac.uk
Jill Smith   Jill.Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry Nitro Store   Tony Rogers (0117) 95 46348 A.S.Rogers@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry & Sychem   Simon Osborne (0117) 92 87646
Claire Pringle (0117) 92 88202 C.L.Pringle@bristol.ac.uk
Corrie Sadler (0117) 92 88166 corrie.sadler@bristol.ac.uk
Lenka Cermakova (0117) 92 87647 Lenka.Cermakova@bristol.ac.uk
Lesley Barry (0117) 33 17680 Lesley.Barry@bristol.ac.uk
Clare Westlake (0117) 92 88158 Clare.westlake@bristol.ac.uk
Maev Moran (0117) 92 88201 maev.moran@bristol.ac.uk
Chemistry E134 Labs   Hazel Sparkes (0117) 33 18298 hazel.sparkes@bristol.ac.uk
Natalie Pridmore   N.Pridmore@bristol.ac.uk

Jonathan Charmant

(0117) 92 88253

Jon.Charmant@bristol.ac.uk

Clifton Hill House   Fiona Chapman (0117) 90 35179 F.Chapman@bristol.ac.uk
Jo Robinson (0117) 90 35180 Jo.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
Computer Centre Tyndall Avenue Catherine Marsh (0117) 33 17954 Catherine.Marsh@bristol.ac.uk
IT Communications General   Ian Stubbs (0117) 39 41126 Ian.Stubbs@bristol.ac.uk
Cotham Hill House Cotham Hill Debra Squires (0117) 33 11239 D.J.Blackmore-Squires@bristol.ac.uk
Dorothy Hodgkin Building   Paul Newcomb (0117) 33 13171 P.V.Newcomb@bristol.ac.uk
Amanda Carmichael (0117) 34 20198 Amanda.Carmichael@bristol.ac.uk
Dagamar Szmigiel (0117) 33 13025 DMP.Szmigiel@Bristol.ac.uk
Drama   Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872   Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
  Kate Withers (0117) 33 15088 Kate.Withers@bristol.ac.uk
  Deborah Gibbs (0117) 33 15088 Deborah.Gibbs@bristol.ac.uk
Earth Sciences   Sue Amesbury (0117) 33 15132 Sue.Amesbury@bristol.ac.uk
  Stuart Bellamy (0117) 39 40010 Stuart.Bellamy@bristol.ac.uk
Engineering Queens & Merchant Venturers Bldg Angelique Bolton (0117) 33 15834 Angelique.Bolton@bristol.ac.uk
Emma Houghton (0117) 95 15520 emma.houghton@bristol.ac.uk
Suzanne Binding (0117) 95 45395 Suzanne.Binding@bristol.ac.uk
Harriet Parks (0117) 33 14787 Harriet.Parks@bristol.ac.uk
Ann Foster (0117) 33 14761 ann.foster@bristol.ac.uk
Paige Spicer (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
Donna Exon-Bartlett (0117) 33 15201 Donna.Exon-Bartlett@bristol.ac.uk
Gina Stuart (0117) 33 15621 Gina.Stuart@bristol.ac.uk
Mary Millard (0117) 33 15846 Mary.Millard@bristol.ac.uk
Alison Withey

(0117) 33  15833

Alison.Withey@bristol.ac.uk
Ruth Bailey (0117) 95     45369 rb15510@bristol.ac.uk
 Liz Heal   Liz.Heal@bristol.ac.uk
Clare Hickey (0117) 33     15107  Clare.Hickey@bristol.ac.uk
Charlotte Goudge

(0117) 33

15222

C.Goudge@Bristol.ac.uk
Caroline Yeates (0117) 33 15183 Caroline.Yeates@Bristol.ac.uk
MVB High Performance Networks Labs Sophie Ross-Smith (0117) 33 15353 S.Ross-Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Geography   Jeni Milsom (0117) 95 46978 Jeni.Milsom@bristol.ac.uk
  Stuart Bellamy (0117) 39 40010 Stuart.Bellamy@bristol.ac.uk
Goldney Hall & Linbury Court   Diane Benoit (0117) 90 34880 Diane.Benoit@bristol.ac.uk
Karen Ireland (0117) 90 34880 Karen.Ireland@bristol.ac.uk
Hawthorns        
     
Hampton House   Richard Edwards (0117) 92 88281 R.H.Edwards@bristol.ac.uk
Lou Miller (0117) 33 10457 L.Miller@bristol.ac.uk
Hiatt Baker Hall   Jo Pollitt (0117) 33 32958 Jo.Pollitt@bristol.ac.uk
Simon Wilde (0117) 90 35174 S.M.Wilde@bristol.ac.uk
Lynn Powell (0117) 90 33389 Lynn.Powell@bristol.ac.uk
Jane Norton (0117) 90 32990 Jane.Norton@bristol.ac.uk
Diane Marquick (0117) 90 32975 Diane.Marquick@bristol.ac.uk
Tracey Brooks (0117) 90 32980 Tracey.Brooks@bristol.ac.uk
Howard House (Maths access ONLY) & Maths - Main Building  
Fran Blake - Howard House access ONLY (0117) 33 15256 Fran.Blake@bristol.ac.uk
Alistair Hunt - Howard House access ONLY

 (0117) 33

15256

Alistair.Hunt@Bristol.ac.uk
Jasmine Trueman - Main Maths Building access ONLY (0117) 92 88451 Jasmine.Trueman@Bristol.ac.uk
Howard House (3rd Floor)   Johanna Richards (0117) 39 41588 Johanna.Richards@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Blake (0117) 39 41591 rebecca.blake@bristol.ac.uk
IT Services, HPC Areas   Ian Stewart (0117) 92 87866 I.Stewart@bristol.ac.uk
Langford Drama Archive   Jo Elsworth (0117) 33 15086 Jo.Elsworth@bristol.ac.uk
Heather Romain (0117) 95 45464 Heather.Romaine@bristol.ac.uk
Bex Carrington (0117) 33 15186 Bex.Carrington@bristol.ac.uk
Langford General   Jennie Roberts (0117) 92 89200
Kay Orgar   kay.orgar@bristol.ac.uk
Stuart Pope (0117) 92 89470 S.J.Pope@bristol.ac.uk
Life Sciences Building   Ruby Jones   ruby.jones@bristol.ac.uk
Alice Stephenson   alice.stephenson@bristol.ac.uk
Anthony Crawford (0117) 92 88486
Manor Hall (Richmond Terrace)   Nikki Press (0117) 90 35500 Nikki.Press@bristol.ac.uk
Paul Sparrow (0117) 90 35520 P.Sparrow@bristol.ac.uk
Med Cellular & Molecular Medicine   Mia Khan (0117) 33 12017 Mia.Khan@Bristol.ac.uk
Cat Evans

(0117) 33 12418

Cat.Evans@Bristol.ac.uk
Lexi Merritt-Harding

(0117) 33       12083

Lexi.Merritt-Harding@Bristol.ac.uk
Kate Davies (0117) 33 12050 Kate.Davies@bristol.ac.uk
Med Biochemistry   Jonathan Cartwright (0117) 33 12192 Jon.Cartwright@bristol.ac.uk
Rachel Tucker (0117) 33 12166 R.Tucker@bristol.ac.uk
Emma Lewis

(0117) 33

12164 

Emma.L.Lewis@Bristol.ac.uk
Med Physiology & Pharmacology   Anne Bedford (0117) ab13581@bristol.ac.uk
Lisa Haslock

(0117) 33 11610

(0117) 33 13153

Lisa.Haslock@bristol.ac.uk
Amanda Stumpenhuson-Payne (0117) 33 11437 buamsp@bristol.ac.uk
NANOPHYSICS/NSQI Tyndall Avenue Fred Hale (0117) 39 40004 Fred.Hale@bristol.ac.uk
Peter Dunton (0117) 39 40013 P.Dunton@bristol.ac.uk
     
Alex Martin (0117) 92 87356 A.Martin@bristol.ac.uk
Oakfield House & Canynge Hall   Canynge Hall    
Deborah Strickland (0117) 92 87337 Deborah.Strickland@bristol.ac.uk
Jan Hill (0117) 92 87310  Jan.Hill@bristol.ac.uk
Joanna Penny

(0117) 33

14599

Oakfield House    
Ross Robinson  (0117) 33 10118 Ross.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
Hannah Woodward (0117) 33 10017 or 10187 Hannah.Woodward@bristol.ac.uk
Oakfield House Data Link Office   Andrew Boyd (0117) 33 10033 A.W.Boyd@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill, Victoria Rooms Maintenance area & UCard Controlled Plant Rooms   Julia Shapcott (0117) 95 45918 Julia.Shapcott@bristol.ac.uk
Pete Viney (0117) 33 11896 Pete.Viney@bristol.ac.uk
Ken McCombe (0117) 92 88054 K.D.McCombe@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill   John Hammond (0117) 33 11890 John.Hammond@bristol.ac.uk
  Rob Jenkinson (0117) 33 17737 R.Jenkinson@bristol.ac.uk
  Julia Shapcott (0117) 95 45918 Julia.Shapcott@bristol.ac.uk
  Ken McCombe (0117) 92 88649 K.D.McCombe@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Projects Office   Buffy Godfrey (0117) 92 88649 Buffy.Godfrey@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Print Services

1-9 Old Park Hill

Kate Bartlett (0117) 92 88295 Kate.Bartlett@bristol.ac.uk
Carol Aleknavicius (0117) 92 88067 Carol.Aleknavicius@bristol.ac.uk
Old Park Hill Complexity Studies   Sophie Benoit (0117) 95 45663 Sophie.Benoit@bristol.ac.uk
Physics Tyndall Avenue Steve Neck (0117) 92 88741
Dr Caroline Jarrett (0117) 92 88940 mdceb@bristol.ac.uk
Martisse Foster (0117) 92 88940 Martisse.Foster@bristol.ac.uk
Peter Barham (0117) 92 88711 Peter.Barham@bristol.ac.uk

Pre-Clinical Veterinary School

Southwell St Kate Healy (0117) 92 88338
kate.healy@bristol.ac.uk

Priory Road Complex

B, C, E and F Blocks     EFIM-ADMINOFFICE@bristol.ac.uk
 
Psychology   Paul Warren (0117) 33 10504 Paul.Warren@bristol.ac.uk
Liz Barker (0117) 33 10501 Liz.Barker@bristol.ac.uk
Jane Pitfield (0117) 33 10510 Jane.Pitfield@bristol.ac.uk
Emily Heseltine (0117) 95 46832 Emily.Heseltine@bristol.ac.uk
Queens, NCC Offices & ACCIS Offices   Paige Spicer (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Katie Drury (0117) 33 15782 katie.drury@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Paige Spicer (0117) 33 15311 Paige.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk
ACIS Allison McIntosh-Smith (0117) 33 15782 Allison.McIntosh-Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Royal Fort House IAS Robert Crowe  (0117) 92 89173 robert.crowe@bristol.ac.uk
Science Faculty Office Miles Taylor   miles.taylor@bristol.ac.uk
Royal Fort Lodge   Tony Blundal (0117) 33 11001
Liz Philpott (0117) 33 11190
Senate House  
Senate House, Ground Floor, Student Office   Sheralynn Light (0117) 92 88101 sheralynn.light@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 1st Floor, Health Sciences Faculty        
   Gayle Hanbury (0117) 92 88250  gayle.hanbury@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 1st Floor, North Wing, Social Sciences & Law Faculty   Catriona Wilgoss (0117) 92 88272 Catriona.Maclean-Eltham@bristol.ac.uk
  Laura Jenks (0117) 33 17298 laura.jenks@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 2nd Floor North Wing, Student Services   Sarah Marshall (0117) 39 41104 sarah.marshall@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Morton (0117) 39 41047 Rebecca.Morton@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, Office 2.1, Public & Ceremonial Events   Sacha Russell (0117) 33 18313 sacha.russell@bristol.ac.uk
Laura Pugh (0117) 92 88986 Laura.Pugh@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 3rd Floor, RED   Gurjeet Kaur (0117) 92 88318 Gurjeet.Kaur@Bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 3rd Floor, Human Resources   Sarah Haworth (0117) 92 88264 Sarah.Haworth@bristol.ac.uk
Rachael Clifton (0117) 92 88272 Rachael.Clifton@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 4th Floor Finance   Rebecca Geen (0117) 33 17104 rg14944@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Attwood (0117) 92 87900 Rebecca.Attwood@bristol.ac.uk
Julie Wallis (0117) 92 88622 Julie.Wallis@bristol.ac.uk
Senate House, 5th Floor   Denisa Mulcahy (0117) 92 88979 Denisa.Mulcahy@bristol.ac.uk
Student Union/Richmond Building   Nicola Kerry (0117) 95 45872 Nicola.Kerry@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Students Union  

Andrew Williams

(0117) 33 18662 stapw@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Students Union Shop   Louise Birbeck (0117) 33 18263 Lou.Birbeck@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Strategic Planning Office, 3rd Floor   Samantha Dixon (0117) 33 18744 samantha.dixon@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Strategic Projects Office, 3rd Floor   Julie Selman

(0117) 33

18659

Julie.Selman@Bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, 3rd Floor North, International Office   Jack Bush (0117) 33 18571 Jack.Bush@bristol.ac.uk
     
Richmond Building, 4th & 5th Floor North   Sarah Armstrong (0117) 33 18522 Sarah.Armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Richard Merrill (0117) 33 10868 Richard.Merrill@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, Swimming Pool & Facilities   M Taylor (0117) 95 45809 M.Taylor@bristol.ac.uk
Richmond Building, CELFS   Sarah Armstrong (0117) 33 18522 Sarah.Armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Wendy Denton (0117) 33 18606 Wendy.Denton@bristol.ac.uk
Corinne Lamplugh (0117) 33 18619 corinne.lamplugh@bristol.ac.uk
Robin Warr (0117) 92 88929 robin.warr@bristol.ac.uk
Helen Campbell (0117) 33 18522 helen.campbell@bristol.ac.uk
Hannah Coe (0117)  hannah.coe@bristol.ac.uk
Jennie Brettell (0117) 33 18522 Jennie.Brettell@bristol.ac.uk
Wills Memorial Building,

Bristol Law School

  Caroline Andrews (0117) 95 45310 Caroline.Andrews@bristol.ac.uk
Toni Walsh (0117) 95 45322 Toni.Walsh@bristol.ac.uk
Wills Memorial Building

Earth Sciences G36 Comms Room

  Colin Knowles

(0117) 33 17456

(0117) 33 17208

Colin.Knowles@bristol.ac.uk
Winkworth House   Liz Posner (0117) 95 46638 Liz.Posner@bristol.ac.uk