View all news

Applications open for PhD studentships in Antimicrobial Resistance

20 December 2017

Applications are now open for the first and only National PhD Training Programme in Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) research, funded by the Medical Research Foundation in response to the urgent action needed to halt antimicrobial resistance and to accelerate new treatments for bacterial infection.

There are 18 fully-funded PhD studentships available for excellent candidates interested in researching the problem of AMR in a cross-disciplinary way, with backgrounds in either the social sciences, humanities, life sciences, biomedical and veterinary sciences, physical sciences and engineering. 

These studentships are hosted by 15 universities and institutions across the UK, several of which are based within University of Bristol. One of these studentships is with CMM’s Dr Matthew Avison. This project is entitled ‘Chasing the transmission of AMR plasmids between farms and local communities’. 

Applications must be made by 31 January 2018. Full details of the application process can be found online, along with listings for all available studentships

Further information

Applications are invited for 18 fully-funded 4-year PhD studentships available to commence in September 2018. The Medical Research Foundation National PhD Training Programme in Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Research is the first nationwide PhD training programme to tackle AMR – one of the greatest emerging threats to global human health.

The 15 consortia hosting studentships in this Training Programme are the :

1) the University of Bristol; 2) University of Cambridge; 3) University of Dundee; 4) University of Edinburgh; 5) University of Exeter; 6) Imperial College London; 7) University of Leeds; 8) London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; 9) the NERC Centre for Ecology and Hydrology; 10) University of Nottingham; 11) Nuffield Department of Medicine, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford; 12) University of Oxford; 13) University of Sheffield; 14) University College London and 15) the University of Warwick.

Edit this page