PhD opportunities

Engineering Research scholarships and PhD vacancies 

These include EPSRC Industrial CASE and Interdisciplinary scholarships.

Follow the links in this table for full informationAcademicGroup/DepartmentDeadline/start date
Thermal Modelling of Spent Fuel Drying (PDF, 244kB) Dr Andrew Lawrie Mechanical Engineering Available Now
Modelling the effect of voids in Composite Components (PDF, 197kB) Prof Stephen Hallett Aerospace Engineering Available Now

Probabilistic Approaches to Engineering Critical Assessment (PDF, 182kB)

Dr Harry Coules Mechanical Engineering Deadline: June 2021
Hydrogen Ventilation in a Geological Disposal Facility (PDF, 268kB) Dr Andrew Lawrie Mechanical Engineering Deadline: 25 June 2021
Holistic Design Optimisation of Power Electronic Converters (PDF, 290kB) Dr Ian Laird Electrical Energy Management Group Deadline: 15 July 2021
Imaging approaches for assessment of subsurface defects in composite structures (PDF, 268kB) Prof Janice Barton Bristol Composites Institute Deadline: 30 Apr 2021
Modelling the effect of defects and features in 3D woven composites (PDF, 196kB) Prof Stephen Hallett Aerospace Engineering Deadline: 15 May 2021
Investigate the ethical and regulatory complexity of testing robotic nano-swarms (PDF, 213kB) Dr Sabine Hauert Engineering Mathematics Deadline: 17 May 2021
Investigating the ethical, social, technology implications in healthcare robots (PDF, 213kB) Prof Jonathan Rossiter Engineering Mathematics Deadline: 17 May 2021
Towards Regulating Autonomous Systems with Evolving Functionality (PDF, 215kB) Prof Kerstin Eder Computer Science Deadline: 17 May 2021
Secure Wireless Agile Network (SWAN) (PDF, 218kB) Prof Mark Beach Electrical Engineering Deadline: 21 May 2021
Effect of laminate architecture on the fatigue life of composite structures (PDF, 267kB) Prof Ole Thomsen Bristol Composites Institute Deadline: 31 May 2021
Composites Dry-Fibre Preform Technology for Complex Manufacturing (PDF, 247kB) Dr B.C. Eric Kim Aerospace Deadline: 31 May 2021
Approaches to Structural Health Monitoring on aerospace primary structure (PDF, 198kB) Prof Bruce Drinkwater Mechanical Engineering Deadline: July 2021

SCEEM EPSRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) Studentships

Fully funded EPSRC PhD studentships available in Computer Science, Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Engineering Mathematics. Deadline: 15 May 2021.

Find out about studentships

Research group PhDs

Other PhD opportunities may be available directly through research groups and advertised on their websites.

Find research group PhDs

Centres for Doctoral Training

Recent awards from The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) recognise Bristol's academic excellence and multi-disciplinary research environment. Find out more about funded PhD programmes.

Contact us

If you have any questions about funding please contact the relevant school office:

School of Civil, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (CAME)

School of Computer Science, Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Engineering Mathematics (SCEEM)

Edit this page