People

These contact lists provide details of those members of the faculty support team working in each of the key support processes (ie, those working in the faculty centre all or some of the time). They also provide details of staff working in faculty-specific roles. Contact details of staff not included within these lists can be accessed via the links provided, the University's contact directory or on divisional websites.

If any information on this page needs updating, please email pa-fssl@bristol.ac.uk.

Faculty support team

 

Faculty officers

Faculty officers contact details
RoleNameEmailExtension
The Dean Professor Paddy Ireland dean-fssl@bristol.ac.uk

 

87797

 

17298

Senior Executive Assistant Zoe Clarke pa-fssl@bristol.ac.uk
Administrative Assistant Tracey Maggs

pa-fssl@bristol.ac.uk

Faculty Education Director, Postgraduate (Taught) Humphrey Bourne humphrey.bourne@bristol.ac.uk 88407
Faculty Education Director, Postgraduate (Research) Sally Barnes sally.barnes@bristol.ac.uk 14339
Faculty Education Director, Undergraduate Rachel Lart ugdean-fssl@bristol.ac.uk 46706
Faculty Research Director Professor Deborah Wilson d.wilson@bristol.ac.uk 87505
Faculty International Director Vacant    
Faculty Manager Dominic Freda dominic.freda@bristol.ac.uk 17723
Faculty Education Manager Hannah Quinn fssl-fem@bristol.ac.uk 88899
Faculty Professional Liaison Manager Dr John McWilliams 10603
Faculty Recruitment and Admissions Officer Ricky Tutin richard.tutin@bristol.ac.uk 41501
Quality Assurance Team (FQET) Chair Dr Gaston Fornes g.fornes@bristol.ac.uk 10792
Widening Participation Coordinator Vacant    

For contact details of school-based staff, please see the school website. A list of academic schools and research centres by faculty is available here.

Faculty officer roles

The Dean

The Dean is the highest academic authority in the Faculty and oversees the Faculty budget, and research and education planning. The Dean is responsible for ensuring that the Faculty is: dedicated to academic achievement across a broad range of disciplines, and to continuous innovation and improvement; research-intensive, supporting both individual scholarship and interdisciplinary or thematic research of the highest quality; a centre for intellectually demanding, research-informed education that nurtures independence of mind and helps students achieve their personal goals and serve society's needs, both during and after their time here; an inclusive and collaborative community of scholarship that attracts and retains people with outstanding talent and potential from all walks of life and all parts of the world; a stimulating and supportive environment for all students and staff, distinguished by a commitment to high standards, respect for the individual and a strong sense of collegiality; committed to operating in a sustainable manner; engaged with society's interests, concerns, priorities and aspirations; a major contributor culturally, environmentally and economically to Bristol and the South West; well led and responsibly run, with an emphasis on consultative decision-making and open communication as well as personal responsibility and accountability.

The Dean chairs and represents the Faculty on all high-level University committees, such as University Planning and Resources Committee, Senate and Council.

Education Director / Graduate Dean

The Education Directors work with the Dean and with other Faculty Officers to deliver the University's Education Strategy.

The Graduate Dean is responsible for all postgraduate matters in the Faculty, such as overseeing final examination results, approving suspensions and extensions and advising the Dean on graduate strategy. The Graduate Dean is available for students to see if they are experiencing problems that they cannot talk about to anybody in their department.

Education Director / Undergraduate Dean

The Education Directors work with the Dean and with other Faculty Officers to deliver the University's Education Strategy.

The Undergraduate Dean is responsible for overseeing all undergraduate matters in the Faculty, such as monitoring student progress and advising the Dean on undergraduate strategy. The Undergraduate Dean chairs the Faculty Learning and Teaching Committee (Undergraduate) and the Faculty Progress Committee and represents the Faculty at relevant University Committees. The Undergraduate Dean is available for students to see if they are experiencing problems that they cannot talk about to anybody in their department by contacting fssl-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk.

Faculty Research Director

The Research Director advises the Dean on research strategy in the Faculty, aiming to create a positive research environment and infrastructure which will attract and retain the highest quality researchers and postgraduate students worldwide. The Research Director is responsible for overseeing the development of our portfolio of flagship and high-impact research, working across and between disciplines to answer important societal questions and contribute to the social, political, environmental and economic well being of the region, the UK and the wider world.

The Research Director also fosters strategic relationships and alliances with key national and international partners in business and industry, the public and third sectors, user communities, sponsors of research and policy-makers.

Faculty International Director

The International Director works with the Dean and the Research and Education Faculty Directors to facilitate the University’s International Strategy.

The primary role of the International Director is to provide the Faculty’s perspective on international issues, synthesised from existing best practice and activities ongoing between the Faculty’s Research and Education portfolios.  The International Director is primarily responsible for contributing to the development of the Faculty and University’s International Strategy, presenting the Faculty’s perspective on internationalisation, sharing best practice across Schools in the Faculty, and liaising with the University International Committee and Faculty Board.

Faculty Manager

As a member of the Faculty senior management team, the Faculty Manager is responsible for ensuring effective operations support for the delivery of the Faculty academic vision and strategy, with particular responsibility for project initiation and delivery. The Faculty Manager oversees Faculty-level administrative and operational processes.

Faculty Education Manager

The Faculty Education Manager is responsible for managing the faculty office and its student administration processes.

 

Finance Services

Finance services contact details
RoleNameEmailExtensionLocation
Finance Director Tim Rose tim.rose@bristol.ac.uk 07747 861854 First Floor Senate House (North Wing)
Head of Finance Business Partnering Euan Hendrie euan.hendrie@bristol.ac.uk 88595
Deputy Finance Business Partner Simon Edwards simon.edwards@bristol.ac.uk 88597
Assistant Finance Business Partner (EFIM, EDUC) Clare Marsh clare.marsh@bristol.ac.uk 17575
Assistant Accountant (SPOL)

Cath Pullinger

cath.pullinger@bristol.ac.uk

88593
Assistant Accountant (SPAIS, LAWD, SWDTC)

Androula Freke

androula.freke@bristol.ac.uk 88599
Assistant Accountant (EDUC, EFIM)

Clare Andrews


88593
Finance Assistant

Sarah Roberts (Mon, Tues, Weds AM)

Keri Naylor (Weds, Thurs, Fri PM)

fssl-buyers@bristol.ac.uk

88592

Administrative Assistant Amanda Robinson amanda.robinson@bristol.ac.uk 88594

Details of Finance Services contacts are also available on the Finance Services website.

 

Human Resources (HR)

HR contact details
RoleNameEmailExtensionLocation
HR Manager Mel Wise melanie.wise@bristol.ac.uk 88558 First Floor Senate House (North Wing)
Senior HR Officer Caroline Veale

caroline.veale@bristol.ac.uk

88589
HR Officer Neil Buttery neil.buttery@bristol.ac.uk 17270
HR Adviser Rhian Beattie rhian.beattie@bristol.ac.uk 88583
HR Advisor Jess Cain jess.cain@bristol.ac.uk 88587
HR Administrator (maternity leave) Hanna Fenwick hanna.fenwick@bristol.ac.uk 11287
HR Administrator Kateline Sparks kateline.sparkes@bristol.ac.uk 11287
HR Administrator Sarah Harvey sarah.harvey@bristol.ac.uk 17465

Details of HR contacts are also available on the HR website.

Please contact any member of the HR team with your enquiry.

 

Education and students

Education and students contact details
RoleNameEmailExtensionLocation
Faculty Education Manager Hannah Quinn fssl-fem@bristol.ac.uk 88899 First Floor Senate House (North Wing)
Graduate Administration Manager Kellie Peakman kellie.peakman@bristol.ac.uk 89953
Education Administration Manager Nicola Williams nicola.williams@bristol.ac.uk 17260
Faculty Timetabling & Education Officer Femke Whittaker-Treffers
89008
Senior Education Administrator (Undergraduate) Jessica Woods fssl-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk 89953
Education Administrator Laura Jenks laura.jenks@bristol.ac.uk 17260
Senior Education Administrator (Postgraduate) Mia Gilson  fssl-pgadmin@bristol.ac.uk 89952
Antonina Timofejeva 17261
Student Administration Manager (School of Economics, Finance and Management - EFiM) Joan Batchelor joan.batchelor@bristol.ac.uk 10517 Social Sciences Complex, 8 Woodland Road
Student Administration Manager (School of Law) Vijay Chandy vijay.chandy@bristol.ac.uk 45311 Wills Memorial Building
Student Administration Manager (SPAIS) David Brown David.Brown@bristol.ac.uk 11027 4 Priory Road
Student Administration Manager (School of Policy Studies) Jacqui Perry jacqui.perry@bristol.ac.uk 46741 Social Sciences Complex, 8 Woodland Road
School Graduate Manager (School of Education) Caroline Falzon C.Falzon@bristol.ac.uk 14344 35 Berkeley Square
PGCE Administration Manager  (School of Education) Emma Lewis emma.lewis@bristol.ac.uk 14103
Graduate Administration Manager (School of Education) Liz Roberts liz.roberts@bristol.ac.uk 14108
Graduate Administration Manager (SPAIS) Harriet Lee spais-gam@bristol.ac.uk 17574 11 Priory Road
Graduate Administration Manager (LAW) Nikki Horrobin  45321 Wills Memorial Building
Graduate Studies Manager (EFiM) Jane Pitfield jane.pitfield@bristol.ac.uk 10510 Social Sciences Complex, 8 Woodland Road
International Recruitment Officer Stephanie Wood stephanie.wood@bristol.ac.uk 45799 Queen's Road Building
  • For postgraduate administration queries, please contact the relevant Student Administration manager in the first instance.
  • For advice and enquiries about postgraduate admissions policy and postgraduate recruitment, and support for Hobsons postgraduate admissions system, please contact the central Postgraduate Admissions and Recruitment team.
  • For international advice & support and study & work abroad queries please visit the International Office website.
  • For information and advice on timetabling please email timetables-ssl@bris.ac.uk or visit the Timetabling Office website.
  • If you are unsure who to contact, please contact the Faculty Education Manager.

 

Research and Enterprise

Research and Enterprise contact details
RoleNameEmailExtensionLocation
Research Development Manager Jude Hill 88987
Third Floor Senate House
Research Development Associate Samuel Lambshead sam.lambshead@bristol.ac.uk 18028
Contracts Manager Keith Feeney keith.feeney@bristol.ac.uk 18290 Third Floor Senate House - Hot-desking Faculty Office
Head of Tech Transfer Sue Sundstrom sue.sundstrom@bristol.ac.uk 17003 Third Floor Senate House
Knowledge Exchange Development Associate  Esther Brown esther.brown@bristol.ac.uk 17473 Third Floor Senate House

Details of Research and Enterprise contacts are also available on the RED website.

 

Public Relations

Public relations contact details
RoleNameEmailExtensionLocation
Digital Manager Laura McCormick laura.mccormick@bristol.ac.uk 40169 31 Great George St, Bristol BS1 5QD
Media Relations Manager Philippa Walker philippa.walker@bristol.ac.uk 40153

Details of the press, communications and web teams are also available on the University's Public Relations Office website.

For contact details for the Public and Ceremonial Events Office (eg, queries about graduation) please visit the PACE website.

 

Estates - Facilities Management

Estates contact details
RoleContact for those working in the following buildingsNameEmailExtensionLocation
Facilities Manager

5, 17 & 19; 30-32 & 34 Tyndall’s Park Road

Priory Road/Priory Road Lecture Theatre
Darren Buss budejb@bristol.ac.uk (0778) 541 6707

Estates Office, 1-9 Old Park Hill, BS2 8BB

Facilities Coordinator

35 Berkeley Square

Wills Memorial Building 
(& Law Offices)
Elliot Riddle elliot.riddle@bristol.ac.uk (0777) 3037 840

 

Further information about the Facilities Managers is available on the Estates website along with information about the other teams within the Estates Office.

To report any building-related fault, please contact the Maintenance Help Desk.  In the case of a major fault, please report it first to Ext 89898 and then advise the Facilities Manager for your zone, whose contact details can be found here.

If you have a more general building-related issue you should contact your Facilities Manager directly. Please contact them by email for non-urgent matters.

 
General enquiries can be sent to facilities-management@bristol.ac.uk or telephone FM Support on Ext 18471.

 

 

IT Services

For all service enquiries, requests and fault reports please contact the IT Service Desk via service-desk@bristol.ac.uk or 87870 or the self-service Service Desk website.

IT contact details
RoleNameEmailExtension
Zone A Team Leader (SPS, EFIM, SPAIS) Tilly Beech Tilly.Beech@bristol.ac.uk 41166
Zone D Team Leader (Law, GSoE) Bob Berrow bob.berrow@bristol.ac.uk 41472

Details of the IT zones are available on the IT Services website.

Information for staff about computing is also available on the IT Services website.

Edit this page