Information for staff and students leaving the University

Disabling of access to University systems and deletion of data on leaving the University

Please note the following important retention information:

  • A short 'grace' period is provided after leaving, during which time you can still access your University accounts (see important note below).
  • After the grace period, access is disabled, though the accounts and all files within are retained for a further short period.
  • Following the retention period, accounts, including all files, are irrevocably deleted.

Checklist of actions when leaving the University

Tidying up in advance of leaving always takes longer than expected, so all those leaving the University, whether staff or students, should make a start well in advance of leaving - see the following checklist for commonly required actions.

 

Undergraduate and taught postgraduate students

  • Advise email contacts of your non-University email address.
  • Unsubscribe from mailing lists or update them with your non-University email address.
  • If you have a Google @my.bristol.ac.uk account then you will retain access to this when you leave the University. You will have access to all appications provided in your Google account and the data (files and emails).
  • Your MyFiles and Microsoft OneDrive account will be deleted so please ensure any files you wish to keep are moved.
  • Hand over ownership of any services that you manage, e.g. mailing lists and websites.
  • You will also lose access to any software you have access to on the basis of your student status. This may include Microsoft Office or specialist software.
  • Check whether you have used your University email address as the password recovery address for any web services and make necessary changes.

Postgraduate research students

  • Advise email contacts of your non-University email address.
  • Unsubscribe from mailing lists or update them with your non-University email address.
  • Access to your @bristol.ac.uk account, MyFiles and University Micorosoft Office 365 account (including Outlook mail and calendar and OneDrive for Business) will be deleted when you leave.
    • Take copies of any personal files and emails you want to keep (check your entitlement before taking copies of anything else, especially that which is classified as confidential or above - see the University's Data Classification Matrix).
    • Please move any files to which others need continued access (whether emails, documents or other) to shared storage or transfer them to appropriate individuals - see how to transfer Google Docs to others.
  • Hand over ownership of any services that you manage, e.g. shared mailboxes, mailing lists and websites.
  • You will also lose access to any software for home use which you have access to on the basis of your postgraduate research student status at the University. This may include Microsoft Office or specialist software.
  • Return all University-owned hardware and software, including items purchased using research grants.
  • Check whether you have used your University email address as the password recovery address for any web services and make necessary changes.

Staff and honorary staff

  • Advise email contacts of your non-University email address.
  • Unsubscribe from mailing lists or update them with your non-University email address.
  • Access to your Google Drive account, MyFiles and University Micorosoft Office 365 account (including Outlook mail and calendar and OneDrive for Business) will be deleted when you leave.
    • Take copies of any personal files and emails you want to keep (check your entitlement before taking copies of anything else, especially that which is classified as confidential or above - see the University's Data Classification Matrix).
    • Please move any files to which others need continued access (whether emails, documents or other) to shared storage or transfer them to appropriate individuals - see how to transfer Google Docs to others.
  • Hand over ownership of any services that you manage, e.g. shared mailboxes, mailing lists and websites.
  • Return all University-owned hardware and software, including items purchased using research grants.
  • You will also lose access to any software for home use which you have access to on the basis of your staff status at the University. This may include Microsoft Office or specialist software.
  • Check whether you have used your University email address as the password recovery address for any web services and make necessary changes.

Information for those with dual staff / student status

  • If your primary email account as a student is a Gmail (@my.bristol) account then that will remain unaffected. You can continue to read your email by using the Google web interface http://www.gmail.com and login using <username>@my.bristol.ac.uk. Please note, however, that emails sent to your staff email account using the "@bristol.ac.uk" address will cease to be delivered when you leave UNLESS you are a current student in which case emails sent to you ending in @bristol.ac.uk will be delivered to your student account.  
  • If you are completing your studies but you are also a member of staff or an associate of the University, you will retain all privileges associated with that role, and only services which you receive by virtue of your student status will change.  All emails sent to you ending in @bristol.ac.uk will continue to be delivered to your staff account

Further information about access and deletion of data

It is strongly recommended that students and staff read further information about access to and deletion of data in good time prior to leaving the University.

Note: to align with data protection legislation, the University is required to update procedures in the near future so that access to systems is disabled on the day of leaving. If extended access is required following this procedural update, the current recommendation is to provide the leaving staff member with honorary staff status for the required period.