View all news

Year 8 pupils ‘graduate’ from university

Four of the Year 8 winners

Four of the Year 8 winners Thomas Heming

Press release issued: 3 July 2013

Year 8 pupils from across Bristol have been given the opportunity to ‘graduate’ from the University of Bristol in recognition of their achievements at school.

A total of 32 youngsters, aged 12 and 13, were selected by their teachers to receive a ‘Bristol Prize’ – a new award created by the University to reward high-achievement and give them an insight into higher education.

The winners come from 16 schools and enjoyed a day at the University before being presented with their awards and certificates during a mock graduation ceremony in the Reception Room of the Wills Memorial Building.

Teachers picked pupils who they felt had contributed significantly over the past year, both through academic achievement or progress and demonstrating excellence in leadership, creativity, innovation or entrepreneurship, service to the community or working to achieve equality.

Pupils were given a taste of University life when they took part in a hands-on workshop in the Physiology and Pharmacology Department, before listening to an English lecture on medieval literature and being given a tour of the University’s world-class learning facilities.

David Alder, Director of Marketing and Communications at the University of Bristol, said: "We're proud to support the celebration of young people's achievements in this way and we have been very pleased by the number of prizes awarded."

It’s hoped the Bristol Prize will become an annual highlight for schools and pupils, and the University has pledged to keep in touch with the winners throughout their education.

Further information

The Bristol Prize winners are:

Brislington Enterprise College - Harry Watts and Lauren MacDonald

Bristol Brunel Academy – Casey Brimble

Bristol Cathedral School – Dexter Williams and Jessica Ince

Bristol Grammar School – Oscar Tovey-Garcia and Rachel Caul

Bristol Metropolitan Academy – Angus Edkins and Maryam Mukith

Clifton High – Asher Brill and Rosie Bailey

John Cabot Academy – Joshua Fudge and Hannah Dyer

Merchants’ Academy – Sophie Newman and Alexander Harrison

Oasis John Williams – Connie Sharp and Nathanial Wilkins

Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital – Oscar Langton-Hewer and Theo Llewellyn

Redland High School – Evin Kandemir and Pippa Morgan

St Bedes Catholic College – Eva Clothier and Przemyslaw Kruczek

St Bernadettes Catholic Secondary School – Julia Lewkowicz and Laurence Foster

St Mary Redcliffe and Temple School – Elizabeth Figg

The Red Maids School – Becky Griffiths and Poppy Wright

Edit this page