Information for the media

Our Media team is on hand to help you with your queries regarding University activities.

Our Media Officers issue regular press releases and statements and can set up interviews with University staff.

All the team can help with enquiries but each has specific responsibilities as follows:

Will Marsh
Head of Media
will.marsh@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0163; mobile: +44 (0)7802 540750

Philippa Walker
Media Relations Manager
Corporate and Professional Services
Faculty of Social Sciences and Law
Specialist Research Institutes: Bristol Poverty Institute; Bristol Institute for Migration and Mobility Studies
philippa.walker@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0153; mobile: +44 (0)7879 430139

Richard Cottle
Media Relations Manager
Faculty of Science; Faculty of Arts
University Research Institutes: Brigstow Institute; Cabot Institute
Specialist Research Institutes: Bristol Quantum Information Institute
richard.cottle@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0156; mobile: +44 (0)7770 408757

Joanne Fryer
Media Relations Manager (working days: Monday to Wednesday)
Faculty of Engineering; Faculty of Health Sciences
University Research Institutes: Jean Golding Institute
Specialist Research Institutes: Bristol Population Health Science Institute; Bristol Composites Institute (ACCIS); Bristol Heart Institute
joanne.fryer@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0227; mobile: +44 (0) 7747 768805

Caroline Clancy
Media Relations Manager (working days: Wednesday to Friday)
Faculty of Engineering; Faculty of Health Sciences
University Research Institutes: Jean Golding Institute
Specialist Research Institutes: Bristol Population Health Science Institute; Bristol Composites Institute (ACCIS); Bristol Heart Institute
caroline.clancy@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0227; mobile: +44 (0)7776 170238

Shona East
Media Relations Manager (International)
Faculty of Biomedical Sciences
University Research Institutes: Elizabeth Blackwell Institute for Health Research
Specialist Research Institutes: Bristol BioDesign Institute
shona.east@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0160; mobile: +44 (0)7971 067978

Elizabeth Somerville
Social Media Manager
elizabeth.somerville@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0228; mobile: +44 (0)7773 704423

Chloe Rowley
Media Assistant
Student stories
chloe.rowley@bristol.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0)117 394 0181

Visit the Directory of Experts, our searchable database listing the research interests of many of our academic staff, if you need to search for an expert in a given area.

For general information about the University, visit our Explore the University page, which contains past and current publications, facts and figures, lists of nobel prize winners and fellowships and the University's history.

Contact the Media team

Tel: +44 (0)117 428 2489
Email: press-office@bristol.ac.uk

During out of office hours, journalists should call +44 (0)117 428 2489 to obtain contact details for the on-duty Media Officer.

Filming requests

Interested in using our buildings as a venue for a film production? Find out more about filming requests.

Edit this page