View all news

Professor Esther Dermott joins as new Head of School

Prof. Esther Dermott

1 August 2017

We are delighted to announce that, following her appointment in June, Esther Dermott has now officially taken up her new role as the Head of the School for Policy Studies. She succeeds Professor David Abbott who led the School from 2015 – 2017.

Esther brings with her a wealth of experience in the Social Sciences and was, prior to this post, Professor of Sociology within the School for Sociology, Politics and International Studies.

Of her appointment, Esther said, “I am very excited about joining the School for Policy Studies (SPS) and look forward to working with staff and students to build on its already excellent reputation as an interdisciplinary School. The research and teaching across the School makes a significant contribution to understanding and promoting social justice, welfare, and wellbeing.

SPS is known for the quality and breadth of its research, impact and teaching and there are real opportunities for us in working across the research specialisms within the School to develop new ways of thinking about social problems and educating the researchers and practitioners of the future.

I am especially keen on thinking about how we can work together to benefit from the larger initiatives that are going on within the University, in making sure that the relationships with our key partners and collaborators are sustained, and ensuring that the School has the national and international profile that it deserves."

Further information

Other recent appointments within the School include:
Dr Miranda Armstrong – Lecturer in Physical Activity in Adults
Dr Charlie Foster – Senior Lecturer in Physical Activity
Dr Natasha Mulvihill – Lecturer in Criminology
• Joanne Large – Lecturer in Criminology
Jon Symonds – Lecturer in Social Work with Children and Families
• Victoria Sharley - Lecturer in Social Work with Children and Families
Dr Caryn Peiffer – Lecturer in International Public Policy and Governance
Tim Marshall – Senior Teaching Associate in Disability Studies
Dr Mike McBeth – Senior Fellow Teaching in Criminology and Social Policy
• Rachel Hahn – Research Associate (TROVE)
• Mary Zhang – Senior Research Associate (Wallenberg Foundation/Sweden & Hilton Foundation projects)
Edit this page