Academic Staff Development

The Academic Staff Development team aim to enhance excellence across the range of academic practice by developing individuals and championing development provision across the University. We support academic staff on all three pathways. Find out more about the Academic Staff Development team. Please contact us by email asd-course@bristol.ac.uk or by phone (0117) 42 83120


  • Dr Simon Swales

    Acting Head of Academic Staff Development

    Tel: (0117) 39 40752

    Simon.Swales@bristol.ac.uk


  • Kathryn Miller

    Leadership Development Manager

    Tel: (0117) to be confirmed

    kathryn.miller@bristol.ac.uk

  • claire-wrixon

    Claire Wrixon

    Staff Development Officer

    Claire is the Staff Development Officer supporting research staff with their professional and career development, helping to give them capacity and focus to develop and deliver world-class research at Bristol as well as to think about their future careers at Bristol and beyond. 

    Tel: (0117) 39 40761

    Claire.Wrixon@bristol.ac.uk

  • contact placeholder female

    Claudia Gumm

    Research Staff Development Officer

    Claudia is the Staff Development Officer supporting research staff with their professional and career development, helping to give them capacity and focus to develop and deliver world-class research at Bristol as well as to think about their future careers at Bristol and beyond.

    Tel:  (0117) 39 40719

    claudia.gumm@bristol.ac.uk


  • Mike Gulliver (currently on leave)

    Academic Staff Development Officer (Research)

    Mike supports the professional and career development of our research staff. He primarily works with Early Career Researchers. Along with Claire, Mike heads up the new Centre for Research Staff Development. Mike also maintains an active, academic research career.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40718

    Mike.Gulliver@bristol.ac.uk


  • Sarah Armstrong

    Administration Team Manager

    Sarah manages the administration team in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82773

    sarah.armstrong@bristol.ac.uk


  • Magda Clark

    Staff Development Adviser

    Magda is an Adviser in the Academic Staff Development Team. She leads on the Bristol Clear Mentoring Scheme and the Bristol Women's Mentoring Network. works on the Leadership and Management stream in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82772

    magda.clark@bristol.ac.uk 


  • Alice Kwong (currently on maternity leave)

    Administrator

    Alice works on the CREATE scheme in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82631

    alice.kwong@bristol.ac.uk


  • Jon Tilley

    Administrator

    Jon works on the CREATE scheme in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82771

    jon.tilley@bristol.ac.uk 

  • contact placeholder female

    Matteo Beccaria

    Administrator

    Matteo works on the Leadership and Management stream in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82771

    matteo.beccaria@bristol.ac.uk 

  • contact placeholder female

    Rachel Dill

    Administrator

    Rachel works on the Researcher Staff stream in Academic Staff Development team.

    Tel:  (0117) 42 82632

    rachel.dill@bristol.ac.uk

  • contact placeholder female

    Jon Gabriel

    Administrator

    Jon works on the CREATE scheme in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82965

    jon.gabriel@bristol.ac.uk