Academic Staff Development

The Academic Staff Development team aim to enhance excellence across the range of academic practice by developing individuals and championing development provision across the University. We support academic staff on all three pathways. Find out more about the Academic Staff Development team. Please contact us by email asd-course@bristol.ac.uk or by phone (0117) 42 83120

  • Alison Leggett

    Dr Alison Leggett (Currently on leave)

    Head of Academic Staff Development

    Alison leads on the strategic design and delivery of an integrated development programme for all academics at the University, including training, mentoring, resources and corporate development initiatives.


  • Dr Simon Swales

    Acting Head of Academic Staff Development

    Tel: (0117) 39 40752

    Simon.Swales@bristol.ac.uk

  • Jane Pritchard

    Dr Jane Pritchard

    Educational Development Manager

    Jane is the Educational Development Manager leading on and Bristol's CREATE CPD scheme (accredited by the HEA) and an array of learning and teaching developments across the University.

    Tel: (0117) 928  7776

    Jane.Pritchard@bristol.ac.uk

  • claire-wrixon

    Claire Wrixon

    Academic Staff Development Officer (Research)

    Claire is the Academic Staff Development Officer (Research) supporting research staff with their professional and career development, helping to give them capacity and focus to develop and deliver world-class research at Bristol as well as to think about their future careers at Bristol and beyond. 

    Tel: (0117) 39 40761

    Claire.Wrixon@bristol.ac.uk

  • contact placeholder female

    Claudia Gumm

    GW4 Developing People Officer

    Claudia's role is to act as project coordinator for the development activities, programmes and events arising from the GW4 ‘Building Capacity and Developing People’ (BCDP) work-stream. 

    Tel: (0117) 39 40719

    claudia.gumm@bristol.ac.uk 

  • contact placeholder female

    Emilie Poletto-Lawson

    Educational Developer

    . 

    Tel: (0117) 92 88878

    emilie.poletto@bristol.ac.uk 

  • contact-placeholder-male

    Julian Kendell

    Educational Developer (PDP)

    Tel: (0117) 39 40732

    julian.kendell@bristol.ac.uk

  • louise-fisher

    Louise Howson

    Educational Developer

    Louise joined the team as the new Staff Development Officer focusing on learning and teaching. Her role involves delivering Starting to Teach for PGRs and Research Staff and supporting elements of CREATE.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40712

    L.Howson@bristol.ac.uk


  • Mike Gulliver

    Academic Staff Development Officer (Research)

    Mike supports the professional and career development of our research staff. He primarily works with Early Career Researchers. Along with Claire, Mike heads up the new Centre for Research Staff Development. Mike also maintains an active, academic research career.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40718

    Mike.Gulliver@bristol.ac.uk

  • Pam Lock

    Pam Lock

    GW4 Developing People Officer

    Pam's role is to act as project coordinator for the development activities, programmes and events arising from the GW4 ‘Building Capacity and Developing People’ (BCDP) work-stream.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40737

    Pam.Lock@bristol.ac.uk


  • Sarah Armstrong

    Administration Team Manager

    Sarah manages the administration team in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82773

    sarah.armstrong@bristol.ac.uk

  • Katie Manktelow

    Staff Development Advisor (Reseacrh Staff)

    Katie is an Advisor in the Academic Staff Development team.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40739

    Katie.Manktelow@bristol.ac.uk


  • Alice Kwong

    Administrator

    Alice works on the CREATE scheme in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82631

    alice.kwong@bristol.ac.uk


  • Emily Derbyshire

    Administrative Assistant (GW4 Developing People)

    Emily is an Administrative Assistant for the GW4 Developing People workstream. Her responsibilities include the organisation and logistics of events, the updating of websites and databases, as well as a general involvement in all sorts of GW4 Developing People administrative tasks.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40705

    Emily.Derbyshire@bristol.ac.uk

  • Gonzalo Velasco Berenguer

    Gonzalo Velasco Berenguer

    Administrative Assistant (GW4 Developing People)

    Gonzalo is an Administrative Assistant for the GW4 Developing People workstream. His responsibilities include the organisation and logistics of events, the updating of websites and databases, as well as a general involvement in all sorts of GW4 Developing People administrative tasks.

    Tel: (0117) 39 40756

    Gonzalo.VelascoBerenguer@bristol.ac.uk


  • Jon Tilley

    Administrator

    Jon works on the CREATE scheme in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82771

    jon.tilley@bristol.ac.uk 


  • Magda Clark

    Administrator

    Magda works on the Leadership and Management stream in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82772

    magda.clark@bristol.ac.uk 

  • contact placeholder female

    Rachel Dill

    Administrator

    Rachel is a member of the Academic Staff Development team.

    Tel:  (0117) 42 82632

    rachel.dill@bristol.ac.uk


  • Stuart Tait

    Administrator

    Stuart works on the Learning and Teaching stream in Academic Staff Development.

    Tel: (0117) 42 82741

    stuart.tait@bristol.ac.uk