Key dates (University Almanac)

Please note that the academic dates below relate to the standard teaching, examination and term dates at the University, however the academic dates may vary for some programmes of study, in particular postgraduate or professional programmes.

  2016/172017/18
Welcome Week 19 - 23 September 2016 18 - 22 September 2017
Teaching Block 1 26 September - 16 December 2016 25 September - 15 December 2017
Christmas vacation (students) 19 December 2016 - 6 January 2017 18 December 2017 - 5 January 2018
University Christmas closure

Monday 26 December 2016 (BH)
Tuesday 27 December 2016 (BH)
Wednesday 28 December 2016 (CD)
Thursday 29 December 2016 (CD)
Friday 30 December 2016 (CD)
Monday 2 January 2017 (BH)
Tuesday 3 January 2017 (CD) *

Monday 25 December 2017 (BH)
Tuesday 26 December 2017 (BH)
Wednesday 27 December 2017 (CD)
Thursday 28 December 2017 (CD)
Friday 29 December 2017 (CD)
Monday 1 January 2018 (BH)
Tuesday 2 January 2018 (CD) *

January assessment period 9 - 20 January 2017 8 - 19 January 2018
Teaching Block 2 23 January - 5 May 2017 22 January - 4 May 2018
Winter degree congregations 15 - 16 February 2017 tbc 
Easter vacation (students) 3 - 21 April 2017 26 March - 13 April 2018
University Easter closure Friday 14 April 2017 (BH)
Monday 17 April 2017 (BH)
Tuesday 18 April 2017 (CD)
Friday 30 March 2018 (BH)
Monday 2 April 2018 (BH)
Tuesday 3 April 2018 (CD)
May bank holidays 1 and 29 May 2017 7 and 28 May 2018
Summer revision week 8 - 12 May 2017 7 - 11 May 2018
Summer assessment period 15 May - 2 June 2017 14 May - 1 June 2018
Summer vacation (students) 12 June - 15 September 2017 11 June - 14 September 2018 
Undergraduate open days 16 and 17 June 2017 tbc 
Convocation AGM 15 July 2017 tbc 
Summer degree congregations 14 - 21 July 2017 tbc 
University summer closure Monday 28 (BH) and Tuesday 29 (CD) August 2017 Monday 27 (BH) and Tuesday 28 (CD) August 2018
Re-sits and supplementary exams 23 August - 5 September 2017  tbc 
Undergraduate open day 9 September 2017 tbc 

Note: Winter and Summer congregations am and pm
BH = Bank holiday / CD = Closure day

* In 2016 and 2017 Christmas Eve is on a weekend (a Saturday in 2016 and a Sunday in 2017), so it is not possible to have four closure days around Christmas.  Instead there will be three closure days around Christmas and staff should add the fourth day to annual leave entitlment for the year.  We will revert back to the four closure days around Christmas in 2018.

Google calendar

View key dates on the University Google calendar.

Open days

The University holds three undergraduate open days each year.

Open days website

Library opening hours

View library opening hours

Examination dates

View examination dates

Edit this page