Dates (University Almanac)

Please note that the academic dates below relate to the standard teaching, examination and term dates at the University, however the academic dates may vary for some programmes of study, in particular postgraduate or professional programmes.

  2018/192019/20
Welcome Week 24 - 28 September 2018 23 - 27 September 2019
Teaching Block 1 1 October - 21 December 2018 30 September - 20 December 2019
Postgraduate open day 21 November 2018  tbc
Undergraduate offer holder visit day

28 November 2018

tbc
Christmas vacation (students)

24 December 2018 - 11 January 2019

23 December 2019 - 10 January 2020
University Christmas closure

Monday 24 December 2018 (CD)
Tuesday 25 December 2018 (BH)
Wednesday 26 December 2018 (BH)
Thursday 27 December 2018 (CD)
Friday 28 December 2018 (CD)
Monday 31 December 2018 (CD)
Tuesday 1 January 2019 (BH)
Wednesday 2 January 2019 (CD)

Tuesday 24 December 2019 (CD)
Wednesday 25 December 2019 (BH)
Thursday 26 December 2019 (BH)
Friday 27 December 2019 (CD)
Monday 30 December 2019 (CD)
Tuesday 31 December 2019 (CD)
Wednesday 1 January 2020 (BH)
Thursday 2 January 2020 (CD)

January assessment period 14 - 25 January 2019 13 - 24 January 2020
Teaching Block 2 28 January - 10 May 2019 27 January - 8 May 2020
Winter degree congregations 19 - 21 February 2019  18 - 20 February 2020 
Easter vacation (students) 8 - 26 April 2019* 30 March - 17 April 2020
University Easter closure Friday 19 April 2019 (BH)
Monday 22 April 2019 (BH)
Tuesday 23 April 2019 (CD)
Friday 10 April 2020 (BH)
Monday 13 April 2020 (BH)
Tuesday 14 April 2020 (CD)
Undergraduate offer holder visit days 30 January 2019
9 February 2019
13 February 2019
2 March 2019
13 March 2019
03 April 2019
17 April 2019
1 May 2019
tbc
May bank holidays 6 and 27 May 2019 4 and 25 May 2020
Summer revision week 13 - 17 May 2019 11 - 15 May 2020
Summer assessment period 20 May - 7 June 2019 18 May - 5 June 2020
Summer vacation (students) 17 June - 20 September 2019 15 June - 
Undergraduate open days (June) 14 and 15 June 2019 tbc
Bristol Students' Union Annual Members' Meeting (AMM) tbc tbc
Summer degree congregations 18 - 26 July 2019  16 - 24 July 2020 
Re-sits and supplementary exams 21 August - 3 September 2019 24 August - 4 September 2020
University summer closure Monday 26 (BH) and Tuesday 27 (CD) August 2019 Monday 31 August (BH) and Tuesday 1 (CD) September 2020
Undergraduate open day (September) 7 September 2019 tbc

Note: Winter and Summer congregations am and pm
BH = Bank holiday / CD = Closure day

*Important information: we have updated our timetable for Easter 2019. Easter vacation will now be from 8 to 26 April, and not 19 April to 10 May as originally timetabled. 

University calendar

Calendar of key dates in the University year.

Edit this page