Meet the Members


There are 20 members of the Board of Trustees, with a lay majority. The full list of members is below. Elected and appointed members serve for renewable three-year terms.


ConstituencyMemberInitial appointment dateEnd date of current term of officePhoto
Treasurer - Lay Member  Mr Andrew Poolman 01/01/2013 31/12/2018 Andrew Poolman, Lay Member
One person nominated by Convocation Mrs Julie Goldstein 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Julie Goldstein
Up to fifteen persons elected by Court, on the nomination of the Nominations Committee of Court Mr Denis Burn (Chair) 01/01/2006 31/12/2018 Denis Burn, Chair of Council
Mr Roy Cowap 01/01/2010 31/12/2018 Roy Cowap, Lay Member
Dr Moira Hamlin (Vice-Chair) 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Moira Hamlin, Lay Member
Sir Ronald Kerr 01/01/2010 31/12/2018 Ron Kerr, Lay Member
Dr John Manley 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 John Manley, Lay Member
Ms Nicky McCabe 01/01/2018 31/12/2020  
Dr Andreas Raffel 01/01/2018 31/12/2020  
Mr Mohammed Saddiq 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Mohammed Saddiq, Lay Member
Ms Victoria Stace 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Victoria Stace, Lay Member
The Vice-Chancellor  Professor Hugh Brady   ex officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor  Professor Guy Orpen   ex officio
Three members of academic staff  Professor Keri Facer 01/08/2017 31/07/2020
Professor Bridget Lumb 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, B Lumb
Professor Geraldine Macdonald 01/08/2017 31/07/2020  
Two members of the non-academic staff  Mrs Tilly Beech 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, T Beech
Mr Robert Massie 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, R Massie
Student Trustee Mr Lucky Dube 01/07/2017 30/06/2018
Student Trustee Ms Ishita Handa 01/07/2017 30/06/2018