View all news

New Fellow of the Royal Society

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones Daugirdas Tomas Racys

Press release issued: 3 May 2013

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones from the School of Chemistry has achieved the rare distinction of being elected Fellow of the world's most eminent and oldest scientific academy in continuous existence: the Royal Society.

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones from the School of Chemistry joins a Fellowship of 1,400 outstanding individuals representing science, engineering and medicine: a global scientific network of the highest calibre.

Professor Lloyd-Jones studied Applied Chemistry/Chemical Technology at the School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, Huddersfield, and spent 1987-88 at ICI Pharmaceuticals before obtaining a doctorate at the University of Oxford.  Following a Royal Society Western European postdoctoral fellowship in Basel, Switzerland with Andreas Pfaltz, he came to Bristol in 1996 and was promoted to Full Professor in 2003, and Head of Biological and Organic Chemistry in 2012.

His research interests centre around the investigation of organic and organometallic stereochemistry and reaction mechanism; this being achieved by strategic alliance of isotopic labelling with spectroscopy, spectrometry, kinetic analysis and computation.  A key driver for these studies is the application of the resulting information in the context of organic synthesis and process development.

The Royal Society citation reads: “Guy Lloyd-Jones has made fundamental contributions by studying the mechanisms of many organic reactions that are important in the arsenal of synthetic chemists.  He is particularly well-known for his work on transition-metal catalysis, especially allylic alkylation, cycloisomerisation of dienes, alkene diamination and enyne metathesis.

"In addition he has provided new insights into reactions involving indium and silicon compounds, as well as studies of H-bonding, the reactions of TMSCHN2, and the thia-Fries rearrangement. His work is distinguished by the development of new tools for the study of these reactions based on novel combinations of NMR, isotopic labelling and stereochemical probes." 

This is the fifth year in a row that a member of staff from Bristol's School of Chemistry has been elected FRS and represents a major scientific recognition for Professor Lloyd-Jones as well as for the School of Chemistry, the Faculty and the University.

Commenting on the honour, Head of the School of Chemistry Professor Nick Norman said: “This is a fantastic achievement for Guy and confirms his status as one of the very best physical organic chemists worldwide.  As a colleague of Guy’s for many years, I have always been impressed by the exceptional quality of his work and have been very aware of the considerable impact it has had in providing new insights and understanding.  Very well done and richly deserved.”

The Royal Society is the world's oldest scientific academy and has been at the forefront of enquiry and discovery since its foundation in 1660.  Past and present members include Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Dorothy Hodgkin, Isaac Newton, Christopher Wren and Stephen Hawking.

Fellows of the Royal Society are elected for life and designate themselves through the use of the letters FRS after their names.  Only 44 new members are elected each year.

Full list of Fellows of the Royal Society at the University of Bristol

Edit this page