Student Experience Committee and Programme Board

Shortcuts: Purpose | Membership | Mode of operation | Quorum | Sub-Groups | Meeting dates | Record of business | Contact

Student Experience Committee reports to Univerity Executive Board, the Programme Board reports to Academic Portfolio Board; they share membership and meetings. 

Student Experience governance reporting structure (PDF, 84kB)


Working in partnership with Bristol SU, the main purposes of the committee are:


The standing membership of the Committee for 2019-20 is as follows:

RoleJob titleName
Academic representatives Pro Vice-Chancellor Student Experience [Chair] Professor Sarah Purdy
Faculty Education Director - PG Professor Harry Mellor
Faculty Education Director - UG Professor Sheena Warman
Univerity Academic Director for Academic Support  Professor Kelly Moule 
School Education Director  Dr David Drury
Bristol SU representatives Bristol SU CEO or Head of Student Voice, Bristol SU Sam Budd / Helen Hoogewerf-McComb
Up to four Bristol SU sabbatical officers (depending on agenda items)

George Bemrose

Chris Brasnett

Amy Brook

Hillary Gyebi-Ababio

Julio Mkok

Jason Palmer

Julius Ogayo

Professional services representatives  Executive Director for Education and Student Experience Paula Coonerty
Academic Quality Manager [Committee Adviser from AQPO] Sam Jones
External Relations, Internal Comms representative  Alicia O'Grady

Faculty Education Manager 

Jayne Brown

Student Administration Manager

David Brown
Programme Board representatives

Registrar and University Secretary 

Lucinda Parr
Project Manager  Sarah Dorrian
Programme Manager - Strategic Programmes and Projects Sam Mongon


The Chair or nominee and at least one other academic staff representative, two Bristol SU representatives, two professional services representatives and two programme board representatives. 

Members of the Committee who are unable to attend a particular meeting may send a suitably qualified nominee, at the discretion of the Chair.  Nominees shall count towards the quorum as though they were the member of the Committee by whom they were nominated and shall be entitled to vote.   

Mode of Operation

The Committee shall normally meet at least five times per year.


Meeting Dates 

Student Experience Committee and Programme Board meetings are scheduled as follows:

Student Experience Committee meeting schedule 2019-20
Paper deadline for Student Experience CommitteeStudent Experience Committee meeting date
Thursday 26 September 2019 Tuesday 8 October 2019
Thursday 14 November 2019 Tuesday 26 November 2019

CANCELLED [Tuesday 28 January 2020]

Thursday 20 February 2020 Tuesday 3 March 2020 (Programme Board)
Thursday 5 March 2020 Tuesday 17 March 2020
Thursday 16 April 2020 Monday 27 April 2020
Thursday 30 April 2020 Tuesday 12 May 2020 (Programme Board)
Thursday 21 May 2020 Tuesday 2 June 2020


Student Experience Committee meeting schedule 2020-21
Paper deadlines Meeting dates 
Thursday 8 October 2020 Tuesday 20 October 2020
Thursday 5 November 2020 Tuesday 17 November 2020
Thursday 14 January 2021 Tuesday 26 January 2021
Thursday 11 February 2021 Tuesday 23 February (Programme Board only)
Thursday 11 March 2021 Tuesday 23 March 2021
Thursday 8 April 2021 Tuesday 20 April 2021
Thursday 6 May 2021 Tuesday 28 May 2021 (Programme Board only)
Thursday 17 June 2021 Tuesday 29 June 2021


Reporting lines

SEC will update University Education Committee (UEC) and PGR Committee as appropriate where there are shared interests and expect that they will inform Senate and Research Committee as approporiate.  UEC and PGR Committee will in turn keep SEC informed of relevant matters.


Please email with any papers for the meetings or any queries to Sam Jones